Oscar-nominated editor Mark Goldblatt (“Terminator 2: Judgment Day”) has edged out fellow nominee Maryann Brandon (“Star Wars: Episode VII – The Force Awakens”) in the runoff election for the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences’ open film editors branch seat, the org announced Monday.

Goldblatt and Brandon tied for the seat in last month’s election, which was the first one open to all 6,000-plus voting members of the group. Previously a nominating committee within each branch chose candidates to run.

Goldblatt returns to the board after a one-year hiatus, joining incumbents Carol Littleton and Michael Tronick in the branch.

This marks just the third time in Academy history that a tie occurred in the balloting. In 2009, Edward Zwick beat out Gil Cates in a directors branch runoff, while last year, Billy Ray won over Larry Karaszewski in a writers branch runoff.

The Academy’s 17 branches are each represented by three governors, who may serve up to three consecutive three-year terms. The board also includes three governors-at-large, appointed by the Academy president.