Every year a number of screenplays are ineligible for consideration at the annual Writers Guild Awards for two reasons: either a writer is not a WGA member or a production is not a signatory with the guild. This year, a handful of Oscar contenders are once again absent.

The highest-profile original script absent from the list that is still very much an Oscar possibility is Nicholas Martin’s “Florence Foster Jenkins.” Also omitted is Efthymis Filippou and Yorgos Lanthimos’ “The Lobster,” which won the Los Angeles Film Critics Assn.’s screenplay prize over the weekend and is a dark horse in the category with the Academy’s writers branch.

Other original screenplays not on the list of 60 eligible contenders include “Everybody Wants Some!!,” “Miss Sloane,” and “Paterson.”

There are fewer absentees on the adapted side, where 55 scripts are in contention. The most notable is Luke Davies’ “Lion,” which may well be the frontrunner for the Oscar. Alas, it won’t get the initial boost of WGA recognition. Critically acclaimed films like “The Handmaiden” and “Krisha” are also omitted.

And as usual, a number of foreign and animated films aren’t in the running due to non-signatory status. “Finding Dory,” “Julieta,” “Kubo and the Two Strings,” “Toni Erdmann,” and “Zootopia” are among those left off the ballot for that reason.