‘Trumbo’ Director Jay Roach to Receive Cinema Audio Society’s Filmmaker Award

The film remains on the rise with nominations from a number of guilds this season.

TIFF 2015 red carpet photos
Andrew H. Walker/Variety/Rex Shutterstock

The Cinema Audio Society announced Thursday that “Trumbo” director Jay Roach will receive the org’s Filmmaker Award at the 52nd annual CAS Awards on Feb. 20.

“Jay has invited us to think and laugh as a storyteller and filmmaker,” CAS president Mark Ulano said. “As a director, writer and producer, Jay is a proven triple talent in the entertainment world.”

Ulano worked with Roach on 1997’s “Austin Powers: International Man of Mystery.”

Previous CAS Filmmaker Award honorees have included Quentin Tarantino, Gil Cates, Bill Condon, Paul Mazursky, Henry Selick, Taylor Hackford, Rob Marshall, Jonathan Demme, Edward Zwick and Richard Linklater.

“Trumbo” remains on the rise as a potential Oscar player this season. The film has netted nominations from the screen actors, art directors, writers and costume designers guilds. Roach and the film’s star Bryan Cranston attended a private soiree Tuesday evening at the home of sound mixer John Ross with Academy members in attendance.