The screenplays for “Ex Machina”and “The Martian” have won the Final Draft Screenwriters Choice Awards as the top scripts written last year.

The winners were announced Thursday night in a ceremony at the Paramount Theatre on the Paramount Pictures Studios lot, hosted for the second year in a row by Thomas Lennon and Robert Ben Garant. The awards are voted on by users of Final Draft screenwriting software

Alex Garland’s script for “Ex Machina” won the original screenplay category, topping “Bridge of Spies” by Matt Charman and the Coen brothers, and “Inside Out” by Pete Docter, Meg LeFauve and Josh Cooley.

“The Martian” won the best adapted screenplay award for Drew Goddard, based on the book by Andy Weir. The other finalists were “The Big Short” by Adam McKay and Charles Randolph, based on the book by Michael Lewis; and
“Star Wars: The Force Awakens” by Lawrence Kasdan & J.J. Abrams and Michael Arndt, based on characters by George Lucas.

All the nominated screenplays have received Oscar nominations, except for “Star Wars: The Force Awakens.”

“Game of Thrones” writers D.B. Weiss and David Benioff won for best television drama over “Downton Abbey” by Julian Fellowes, and “Fargo” by Steve Blackman, Robert De Laurentiis and Noah Hawley.

“Big Bang Theory” writers Chuck Lorre and Bill Prady won for best TV comedy, beating Steve Levitan and Christopher Lloyd for “Modern Family,” and Jenji Kohan for “Orange Is the New Black.”