You will be redirected back to your article in seconds

IFFAM: ‘Winter’ is Winner in Macao Festival’s Glitzy Finale

The first edition of the International Film Festival & Awards Macao wrapped up with a snappy and well-drilled prize ceremony. The competition section was won by Argentinian film “The Winter” (aka “El Ivierno”) directed by Emiliano Torres.

The best director award went to Marco Martins for “Saint George” about an unemployed boxer. “Saint George” also claimed the best actor prize for Nuno Lopes.

The ceremony was held at the casino town’s cultural center Tuesday night. Notable film folk in attendance included Jon Chu, Gianni Nunnuri, Chin Han, John Penotti, Ludi Lin, the BFI’s Sandra Hebron and Ann Hui. Career achievement awards were accepted in person by top Chinese director Feng Xiaogang and producer-financier Yu Dong of Bona Film Group.

The competition section jury also included Shekhar Kapur, Giovanna Fulvi and Japanese actress Makiko Watanabe.

The festival was hatched with the idea of adding to the former Portuguese colony’s cultural activities and diversifying its appeal as a tourist destination.

While the sudden resignation of festival director Marco Mueller in October shook the organizers, the festival overcame that and delivered both a strong film lineup – jury president Kapur said “when you have a jury where everyone has a personal favorite that they champion you know you have a strong selection” – and an impressive industry section. It included a project market, conferences and a screening series.

British film, “Trespass Against Us” won both the jury prize and the prize for Lyndsey Marshal as best actress. The best screenplay award went to Amy Jump and Ben Wheatley for another British film “Free Fire.” The best technical contribution prize went to the sound design in tough Brazilian drama “Elon Doesn’t Believe in Death.”

One of the biggest cheers of the night was for the selection of Jennifer Yu as best newcomer for her performance in Macau director Tracy Choi’s “Sisterhood.” “The young actress delivered a difficult part, which is both dramatic and humorous at the same level, and kept us emotionally engaged in the story. For her very first feature film, this young actress showed incredible promise,” the jury said. “Sisterhood” also earned the audience prize.

Variety presented a prize for Asian blockbuster film of the year to Korean zombie film “Train to Busan.”

Earlier in the week, winners were announced in the industry hub’s Crouching Tigers Project Lab.
The three sponsors Tomas Jegeus from Fox International Production, John Penotti from Ivanhoe Pictures and Jane Wan from Huace Pictures gave the rules a slight twist and instead of presenting three awards gave out four awards, each worth $10,000.

The 2016 Crouching Tigers Project Lab winners:
“River Town,” dir and prod. Lu Chuan, prod. Jamie Gordon (U.S. / China);
“Inspector Lou,” dir: Djo Munga (U.K. / Belgium / Democratic Republic of the Congo);
“Pintakasi,” dir: Erik Matti, prod: Ronald “Dondon” Monteverde (Philippines); and
“270 San Ma Lo Macao,” co-dirs. and co-prods. Joao Pedro Rodrigues and Joao Rui Guerra da Mata (Portugal)

“We’re extremely proud and happy with the 3 days of Crouching Tigers Project Lab pitching and meetings as many projects found really good potential investors, sales agents and partners for their film projects,” said Lorna Tee, head of festival management.




Popular on Variety

More Film

  • Bull

    Annie Silverstein's 'Bull' Takes Top Awards, Robert Pattinson Starrer 'The Lighthouse' Wins Jury Prize at Deauville

    Annie Silverstein’s feature debut “Bull” swept three awards at the 45th Deauville American Film Festival, including the Grand Prize, the Revelation Prize for best first film and the Critics’ Prize. “Bull,” a portrait of a rebellious teenage girl from South Texas, world premiered at Cannes’s Un Certain Regard and marks Silverstein’s follow up to her [...]

  • Constance Wu and Jennifer Lopez star

    Jennifer Lopez's 'Criminal' Striptease: How 'Hustlers' Landed the Fiona Apple Hit

    Contrary to what you might be expecting, the number of songs by Jennifer Lopez, Lizzo and Cardi B in “Hustlers,” their newly released acting vehicle, adds up to … zero. Meanwhile, the standout music sync in a movie that’s full of them belongs to no less likely a choice than Fiona Apple. The scene in [...]

  • Game of Thrones Season 8

    'Game of Thrones,' 'Avengers' Win Big at 45th Annual Saturn Awards

    As Jamie Lee Curtis picked up her first trophy ever at the 45th Annual Saturn Awards Friday night, she had a good luck charm on her arm: former manager Chuck Binder, whom she said was the reason she became an actor. “I was in college and had no thought of being an actor,” Curtis told [...]

  • Jennifer Lopez and Constance Wu star

    Box Office: 'Hustlers' Dances Toward $32 Million Opening Weekend

    “Hustlers” is eyeing the biggest opening weekend ever for STXFilms, following a Friday domestic ticket haul of $13.1 million from 3,250 theaters. If estimates hold, the stripper saga could take home around $32 million come Sunday, marking the best live-action opening of Jennifer Lopez’s career. “Hustlers” follows a group of former strip club dancers, led [...]

  • Hustlers intimacy coordinator

    Meet the Stripper Consultant Who Gave 'Hustlers' Authenticity, Dignity and Sexual Freedom

    At last week’s Toronto Film Festival premiere of “Hustlers,” an audience of Hollywood heavyweights and Canadian locals applauded as a statuesque woman strutted on stage, rocking six-inch platform heels and a pastel tie-dye bodysuit. This adoration was not for stars Jennifer Lopez, Constance Wu or Keke Palmer, nor was it for the film’s acclaimed writer-director [...]

  • Kristen Stewart

    French Director Olivier Assayas Pays Tribute to Kristen Stewart at Deauville

    French director Olivier Assayas paid tribute to Kristen Stewart, whom he directed in “Clouds of Sils Maria” and “Personal Shopper,” at the Deauville American Film Festival on Friday evening. Stewart received a honorary award in Deauville before the French premiere of Benedict Andrews’s “Seberg” in which the actress stars as Jean Seberg, a French New [...]

  • Liam Gallagher: As It Was

    Film Review: 'Liam Gallagher: As It Was'

    Liam Gallagher is nearly as fascinating a rock ‘n’ roll figure as he thinks he is … which is saying a lot. After the breakup of Oasis, one of the most self-avowedly arrogant stars in pop culture found himself severely humbled, fighting to become relevant again without the help of Noel, his ex-bandmate and, for [...]

More From Our Brands

Access exclusive content