Tom Rothman Confirmed to National Council on the Arts

Tom Rothman Confirmed to National Council
Chelsea Lauren/Variety/REX/Shutterstock

Tom Rothman, chairman of Sony Pictures Entertainment’s motion picture group, is taking a seat on the National Council on the Arts, the advisory body to the National Endowment for the Arts.

The NEA announced his appointment on Thursday, in advance of the council’s next meeting on March 24. He was confirmed by the U.S. Senate in December. President Obama nominated Rothman to fill a slot on the council in late 2013.

The council advises chairwoman Jane Chu on agency policies and programs, and makes recommendations on grant applications and funding guidelines. Congress appropriated $148 million to the NEA in 2016.

Rothman has been group chairman of the motion picture group since last year, and joined Sony in 2013 as chairman of TriStar Productions. He was chairman and CEO of Fox Filmed Entertainment from 2000 to 2012.

His term runs through Sept. 3, but members continue to serve until their replacements are confirmed by the Senate.

Other members of the council include Bruce Carter, Aaron Dworkin, Lee Greenwood, Deepa Gupta, Paul Hodes, Maria Rosario Jackson, Emil J. Kang, Charlotte Kessler, María López De León, Rick Lowe, David “Mas” Masumoto, Irvin Mayfield, Jr., Barbara Ernst Prey, Ranee Ramaswamy, Diane Rodriguez and Olga Viso.