You will be redirected back to your article in seconds

‘Breaking Bad’ Props Donated to Smithsonian’s National Museum of American History

WASHINGTON — The porkpie hat worn by Bryan Cranston’s menacing antihero, Walter White, in the Sony Pictures Television series “Breaking Bad” has been donated to the Smithsonian’s National Museum of American History. So you’d think Cranston would send shivers through the audience when he donned the “Heisenberg” Monday during a ceremony in honor of Sony’s gift.

Well, not exactly. “This character changed my life,” said Cranston with a smile.

He was joined by numerous members of the cast, “Breaking Bad” creator and executive producer Vince Gilligan, Sony Pictures Television Chairman Steve Mosko and other Sony executives for the occasion.

The props, which include the two Tyvek suits and gas masks used by Walt and Aaron Paul’s Jesse Pinkman in their lab, will join the museum’s extensive collection of showbiz artifacts that include Archie Bunker’s chair, Fonzie’s Jacket and Dorothy’s shoes. They will go on display in 2018 as part of a large exhibit on American culture at the facility on the National Mall.

“We approached Sony because we felt the show made a real impact on American society, especially with how it dealt with the issue of society’s ambivalence,” said Dwight Bowers, the museum’s entertainment curator. He said a three-year courtship of Sony execs ultimately convinced them that the items belong there.

“To come back here to be part of a gift to the Smithsonian is just incredible,” said Mosko, who visited the D.C. museums every year growing up and joined Sony’s contribution of the “puffy shirt” from “Seinfeld.” That comment was seconded by cast members Paul and Jonathan Banks, who savored the unofficial cast party.

Cranston, cornered after the event, said he is thrilled with his new project for Amazon, “Sneaky Pete,” which goes into production in February and air in August or September. Cranston, an exec producer on the project, said it hasn’t yet been determined how often his character, Vince, will appear in the series. But the character is the anti-hero, he said.


Sony Pictures Television Chairman Steve Mosko, Bryan Cranston, Jonathan Banks, SPT programming Presidents Jamie Erlicht and Zack Van Amburg, Aaron Paul, Vince Gilligan, Dean Norris, R.J. Mitte and Smithsonian Museum Director John Gray
Photo courtesy of Sony Pictures Television

More Scene

  • The CalArts REDCAT Gala 2019 Honoring

    Pixar's Pete Docter Honored at CalArts REDCAT Gala

    Pixar’s Pete Docter reminisced about his days as a student at CalArts on Saturday night at the 2019 CalArts REDCAT Gala, where he received the Distinguished Alumni Award. For the wide-eyed boy from Minnesota, where life was more routine, attending CalArts “was a free-for-all. It was eye-opening in a lot of ways,” he recalled. “But [...]

  • Sasha Pieterse, Eli Brown, Sydney Park

    'Pretty Little Liars' Spinoff Unexpectedly Coincides With College Admissions Scandal

    It was a case of art imitating life at Saturday night’s Hollywood premiere of “The Perfectionists” — Freeform’s “Pretty Little Liars” spinoff about a scandal involving college students striving for excellence by any means necessary. The TV show’s debut was coincidently preceded by a real-life college scandal involving Hollywood celebrities who allegedly didn’t let a [...]

  • Keira Knightley'The Aftermath' film screening, Arrivals,

    Keira Knightley Talks 'Aftermath,' Alexander Skarsgård and Another Itchy Wardrobe

    The reigning queen of period pieces, Keira Knightley, knows a thing or two about historical clothing. “Lining. Lining is always important,” the Oscar-nominated actress playfully advised on Wednesday at the premiere of her post-WWII drama “Aftermath.” “If you get a lot of itchy stuff always put lining in it. I have learned that from having [...]

  • Priyanka Chopra

    Priyanka Chopra to Speak at the 2019 Women in the World Summit (EXCLUSIVE)

    Priyanka Chopra has just been added to the star-studded list of speakers at the 2019 Women in the World Summit. Chopra, who will be interviewed on stage by Women in the World founder Tina Brown, will discuss her career as an activist and entrepreneur. Recently, the “Baywatch” actress joined forces with Serena Williams in investing [...]

  • Jessica Chastain arrives at the 2019

    Jessica Chastain on Continuing to 'Balance the Scales' for Gender Parity in Hollywood

    Jessica Chastain‘s work for gender parity in Hollywood isn’t slowing down soon. “I have noticed, of course, now that it’s in fashion there are other people that are jumping on board, and honestly, I don’t care what their motives are,” Chastain tells Variety. “Because at the end of the day, the more we focus on [...]

  • 10 Latinxs to Watch

    Variety's 10 Latinxs to Watch Brunch Celebrates Diversity in the Community

    Saturday afternoon brought rising Latinx filmmakers and actors together at Variety’s 10 Latinxs to Watch brunch held in partnership with the 36th annual Miami Film Festival. The festive celebration, which took place at the JW Marquis Marriott’s Boulud Sud restaurant, featured a panel discussion moderated by Variety’s Malina Saval with the following five select individuals [...]

More From Our Brands

Access exclusive content