You will be redirected back to your article in seconds

Russell Wilson to Host 2nd Annual Nickelodeon Kids’ Choice Sports Awards

Seattle Seahawks quarterback Russell Wilson is set to host Nickelodeon’s second annual Kids’ Choice Sports Awards, the cabler announced Wednesday.

Held on July 16, live from UCLA’s Pauley Pavilion in Los Angeles, the award show celebrates kids’ favorites in the sports world and will feature special guests, performances, competitions and slime.

“I am thrilled that Nickelodeon has asked me to host Kids Choice Sports. What an honor to be the king of slime for one crazy night,” Wilson said. “I had so much fun at the show last summer that I can’t wait to get back. What kid doesn’t want to get slimed? Count me in on that. I’m just a big kid at heart, so let the fun begin. I promise you, we’re going to have great fun.”

The NFL player, 26, is the third youngest quarterback in NFL history to win the Super Bowl, and has won more games in his first three seasons than any quarterback in the history of the league. Wilson is the first quarterback to start two Super Bowls in his first three seasons.

Michael Strahan hosted the inaugural event in 2014, and will serve as an exec producer this year. Jay Schmalholz and Shelly Sumpter Gillyard will exec produce Kids Choice Sports, which is produced by Done and Dusted and Nickelodeon Productions. Constance Schwartz, Ian Stewart and Hamish Hamilton will also co-exec produce, and Hamilton will direct the show.

Kids’ Choice Sports Awards 2014 welcomed musical performers Florida Georgia Line and Pharrell Williams, and honored David Beckham with the Legend Award. Victor Cruz, Kevin Durant, Larry Fitzgerald, Bethany Hamilton, Tony Hawk, Marshawn Lynch, McKayla Maroney, Floyd Mayweather Jr., Metta World Peace and Dwayne “the Rock” Johnson were among last year’s presenters.

More TV

  • Melissa McCarthy as "Lee Israel" and

    WGA Awards 2019: 'Can You Ever Forgive Me?,' 'Eighth Grade' Win Screenplay Awards

    In a pair of upsets, “Can You Ever Forgive Me?” has won the Writers Guild of America’s adapted screenplay award for Nicole Holofcener and Jeff Whitty and Bo Burnham has won the original screenplay award for “Eighth Grade.” The major television trophies went to “The Americans,” “The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel,” “Homeland” and “Barry” for the [...]

  • 50 Cent Power

    NYPD Officer Under Investigation for Allegedly Telling Police to Shoot 50 Cent 'on Sight'

    A New York City precinct commander is under investigation for allegedly telling officers to shoot rapper 50 Cent on sight, a police rep confirmed to Variety on Sunday. “The matter is under internal review,” an NYPD rep said, declining to answer further questions. Deputy Inspector Emanuel Gonzalez is accused of telling officers during a June 7 roll [...]

  • Bohemian Rhapsody

    'Bohemian Rhapsody,' 'Marvelous Mrs. Maisel' Among Cinema Audio Society Winners

    Queen biopic “Bohemian Rhapsody” won the Cinema Audio Society’s top prize for sound mixing at Saturday night’s 55th annual CAS Awards. The film is Oscar-nominated for sound mixing this year along with “Black Panther,” “First Man,” “Roma” and “A Star Is Born.” In a surprise over heavy-hitters “Incredibles 2” and “Spider-Man: Into the Spider-Verse,” Wes [...]

  • Marvelous Mrs Maisel Vice

    'Vice,' 'The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel' Lead Make-Up and Hair Stylists Guild Awards Winners

    Adam McKay’s Dick Cheney biopic “Vice,” starring Oscar nominees Christian Bale, Amy Adams and Sam Rockwell, won two awards at the sixth annual Make-Up and Hair Stylists Guild Awards Saturday night. The film won for best period and/or character makeup as well as special makeup effects. “Mary Queen of Scots” received the prize for period [...]

  • Jussie Smollett Good Morning America

    Jussie Smollett Angrily Denies Complicity in Attack

    Attorneys for “Empire” actor Jussie Smollett issued a statement Saturday denying that he orchestrated his Jan. 29 assault, and saying he is “angered” and “devastated” by recent developments in the case. Chicago police want to interview Smollett, after learning new evidence from two Nigerian brothers who were released on Friday night. Local media outlets have [...]

  • Jussie Smollett Empire

    Chicago Police Want to Talk to Jussie Smollett as New Evidence Emerges

    Chicago police are seeking to re-interview “Empire” actor Jussie Smollett, after new evidence emerged in his alleged assault. Smollett has claimed that two men attacked him at 2 a.m. on Jan. 29, yelled racial and homophobic slurs, poured bleach on him, and put a noose around his neck. The Chicago Police Department has consistently said [...]

More From Our Brands

Access exclusive content