GLAAD will honor actress and talk show host Kelly Ripa with its Excellence in Media award at the 26th annual GLAAD Media Awards at the Waldorf Astoria New York on May 9.

Previous Excellence in Media Award honorees include Russell Simmons, Tyra Banks, Judy Shepard, Julianne Moore, Glenn Close, Barbara Walters, Bob and Harvey Weinstein, Diane Sawyer and Vanessa Redgrave.

Anderson Cooper will present Ripa with the award. Cooper previously received GLAAD’s Vito Russo Award in 2013.

GLAAD noted that through her daily morning discussions with co-host Michael Strahan on “Live With Kelly and Michael” and interviews with LGBT guests and allies, Ripa has voiced support of marriage equality, sent messages of hope to LGBT youth and spoken about the importance of LGBT representation in entertainment media.

Ripa has participated in GLAAD’s Spirit Day campaign to raise awareness about the disproportionate rates of bullying facing LGBT youth. The host and her husband Mark Consuelos are also executive producers of Logo’s “Secret Guide to Fabulous.”

“For over a decade, Kelly Ripa has greeted millions of viewers with messages of acceptance and inclusion,” said GLAAD president-CEO Sarah Kate Ellis. “By sharing inclusive stories with her audience and loudly voicing support for her LGBT friends and fans, Kelly is helping to drive acceptance forward.”

GLAAD previously announced journalist and MSNBC anchor Thomas Roberts will receive the Vito Russo Award the New York event.