You will be redirected back to your article in seconds

The Television Academy is breaking with awards tradition and will now be announcing the Emmy Award nominations three hours later than usual.

This year’s Emmy Award nominations will be announced at 8:30 a.m. PT on July 16. They will be presented by Uzo Aduba (“Orange Is the New Black”) and John Stamos (“Grandfathered”). The event will be broadcast from the the SilverScreen Theater at the Pacific Design Center this year, due to construction at the TV Academy’s North Hollywood campus.

“Because of the speed in today’s 24/7 viral news cycle we all receive news and information in real time from multiple media sources and on various platforms,” the TV Academy said in a statement. “The Academy believes this new time — one that saves everyone getting up so early in the morning for the nominations ceremony — reflects this sensibility and is a forward-looking and effective way to kick off the Emmy season.”

The move signifies changes in award show announcements as producers show less dependence on New York-based morning talk shows that needed the news out early and more on word-of-mouth news spreading through social-media channels.

”Television has never been more robust, available and entertaining,” said Television Academy chairman and CEO Bruce Rosenblum. “This year we’ve had a 40% increase in drama series submissions and close to a 70% increase in limited series submissions, which underscores the wealth of content that’s being produced across all platforms by top quality talent in this new golden age of television. We look forward to having Uzo and John join us as we kick off what promises to be an incredible Emmy season.”

Spike Jones Jr. will return to produce the nominations ceremony this year. This marks the fifth year he has produced the Primetime Emmy nominations announcements.

“Brooklyn Nine-Nine” star Andy Samburg will host this year’s Primetime Emmy Awards, which will air September 20 on Fox. Don Mischer will serve as executive producer for the telecast.