WASHINGTON — Comedian Eddie Murphy has been tapped by the Kennedy Center to receive this year’s Mark Train Prize for American Humor.

Award will be presented Oct. 18 at a Kennedy Center event to be taped for later broadcast. A gaggle of top entertainers is again expected to assemble for a celebratory roasting and video clip-a-thon of the former “Saturday Night Live” cast member and box office magnet.

“We look forward to paying tribute to Murphy’s important and lasting impact on American culture,” said the center’s new president, Deborah Rutter.

The award, in its 18th year, is the centerpiece of an expanding emphasis on showcasing comedy at the KenCen. Murphy joins a growing list of “SNL” alums who’ve received the award including Tina Fey, Will Ferrell, Billy Crystal and Lorne Michaels. Last year’s recipient was Jay Leno.

Murphy joined “SNL” in 1980 at the age of 19; his impression of Buckwheat, James Brown and others became instant hits. He has since become one of the industry’s all-time B.O. champs.