You will be redirected back to your article in seconds

ATX Announces New Advisory Board Members & Ambassadors

ATX Television Festival has announced the new Advisory Board members and Ambassadors.

Joining the ATX Advisory Board are “Fargo” creator Noah Hawley, “House of Cards” boss Beau Willimon, Graham Yost (“Justified,” “The Americans”) and Kevin Falls (“Minority Report,” “Franklin and Bash”). Abigail Spencer (“Rectify,” “True Detective”) joins the festival as an Ambassador.

The new additions join current Advisory Board members — who help to curate the festival’s programming and provide guidance with their range of expertise and knowledge in the television industry — Peter Billingsley, Ben Blacker, Dina Hillier, David Hudgins, Arielle Kebbel, Kyle Killen, Laura Kincaid, Jordan Levin, Richard Linklater, Julie Plec, Michael Rauch, Bryan Seabury, Betty Thomas and Liz Tigelaar, and Ambassadors Wilson Cruz, Matt Lauria, Scott Porter, Nick Wechsler and Mae Whitman, who serve as the festival’s spokespeople.

“We are thrilled to add Graham, Noah, Beau and Kevin to our Advisory Board,” said Emily Gipson and Caitlin McFarland, co-exec directors and founders of ATX. “As individuals, they have been contributing to our event for years, from reunions, to sponsorships, to strategizing on future plans for the festival.”

The duo added, “Abigail Spencer has been an incredible supporter since she first attended the festival in 2014 with ‘Rectify,’ and we’re excited that she will be back this year for multiple screenings in our Never Picked-up Pilots category with Krista Vernoff. Together, our Advisory Board and Ambassadors strengthen the festival, as an extremely talented group of creative leaders of the television community, and we are honored they’ve agreed to join us.”

ATX also announced a call for submissions for the 2016 Pitch Competition, starting Dec. 4. The competition is for hopefuls looking to pitch their original ideas for a TV series to execs, creators and producers in the entertainment industry. The 10 finalists will pitch in front of a live audience during the summer festival, and the winner will receive a mentorship with an ATX judge and the chance to pitch his or her show to the festival’s studio and network partners.

This year, the judges are  Ryan Andolina (VP of production, Amazon Studios); Shondaland’s Betsy Beers (“Grey’s Anatomy,” “Scandal,” “How to Get Away with Murder,” “The Catch”); David Hudgins (“Game of Silence,” “Parenthood,” “Friday Night Lights”); Kyle Killen (“Mind Games,” “Awake”), Kate Lambert (VP of series development, FX); Franklin Leonard (founder of The Black List); Noreen O’Toole (co-producer, Bad Robot); Bryan Seabury (VP of drama development, CBS); and Yost.

ATX’s fifth annual fest runs next year from June 9-12 in Austin, Texas.

Popular on Variety

More TV

  • Billy Porter ABC Disney FX Party

    Emmys 2019: Inside the Post-Show Parties

    After the final awards were presented at the 71st Emmys, televisions biggest stars and execs headed off for final toasts to this year’s festivities. Things kicked off at the Governors Ball but didn’t end until the wee hours at parties throughout Los Angeles. Here, Variety gives you the inside details on all the hottest after-parties… [...]

  • Batwoman CW

    'Batwoman': CW Drama Tops New Fall Shows in Two TV Awareness Studies (EXCLUSIVE)

    If awareness of a new show were directly correlated to viewership, then The CW”s “Batwoman” would be the biggest hit of the new fall TV season. According to two new studies, both exclusively obtained by Variety, “Batwoman” leads this fall’s crop of freshman broadcast series in terms of both viewers “aware” of a show, and [...]

  • Andre Previn Dead

    Emmys' In Memoriam Shows Photo of Living Composer Instead of Andre Previn

    Any “In Memoriam” segment on an awards show results in immediate viewer furor over which recently deceased figures got left out. In the case of Sunday’s Emmy Awards, it was more about who got included: the very much still-with-us composer Leonard Slatkin — or at least his photographic representation, as he was misidentified as Andre [...]

  • Supernatural -- "The Rising Son" --

    'Walker, Texas Ranger' Reboot Starring Jared Padalecki in Development

    “Supernatural” star Jared Padalecki could soon be starring in a reboot of “Walker, Texas Ranger,” Variety has confirmed. CBS Television Studios is currently developing a new version of the classic Chuck Norris-led series with Padalecki in the title role. No network is currently attached. The series would focus on Walker as he returns from years undercover. [...]

  • This is Us

    What to Watch on TV This Week: 'The Politician,' 'This Is Us' Season 4 Premiere

    Welcome back to Tune In: our weekly newsletter offering a guide to the best of the week’s TV. Each week, Variety’s TV team combs through the week’s schedule, selecting our picks of what to watch and when/how to watch them. This week, Ryan Murphy’s “The Politician” drops on Netflix, and “This Is Us” season 4 [...]

  • UMC-Marriage-Boot-Camp-Hip-Hop-Edition-WE-tv

    WE tv, UMC Reteam on Bonus Content for 'Marriage Boot Camp: Hip Hop Edition' Season 2

    AMC Networks is touting the benefits of cross-pollinating content and promos across its TV and streaming properties. In the latest bit of synergy, the programmer’s WE tv announced the continuation of its partnership with sister company UMC (Urban Movie Channel) to produce a second season of “confessional” episodes for WE tv reality series “Marriage Boot [...]

  • BLUFF CITY LAW -- "Pilot" Episode

    TV Review: 'Bluff City Law'

    As a legal procedural emanating from outside the imaginings of Dick Wolf, “Bluff City Law” at least represents something novel for NBC. But its understanding of the workings of the legal profession is frustratingly limited in a familiar way — not merely because it falls so nearly into timeworn cliché but also because it seems [...]

More From Our Brands

Access exclusive content