Variety has chosen its 10 Comics to Watch for 2015.

The series recognizes standups, sketch artists and Web content creators, who will be honored at the Just for Laughs Comedy Festival in Montreal in July.

Selected by a team of Variety editors based on extensive polling of the professional comedy community — those who scout, book, represent, produce and cast comics on a daily basis — the group will be profiled in the July 14 issue of Variety and honored with a cocktail party and panel July 23 and 24 at the festival.

These are the 10 comics selected:

Nate Bargatze, who recently debuted the special “Full Time Magic” on Comedy Central and whose comedy album “Yelled at by a Clown” hit No. 1 on the iTunes comedy charts and the Billboard Top Ten Comedy Charts.

Tone Bell, set to star in the NBC show “People Are Talking,” recently sold a show to FX that he will write, produce and star in.

Kate Berlant, who has written for “Billy on the Street” and toured with Father John Misty and Lo-Fang, has had performances commissioned by the Museum of Contemporary Art, Los Angeles.

Flula Borg, recently seen in “Pitch Perfect 2,” has a popular YouTube Channel with over 500,000 subscribers.

Bianca Del Rio, winner of “Rupaul’s Drag Race,” is starring in the film “Hurricane Bianca” and currently on the “Rolodex of Hate” tour.

Bridget Everett, who appears on “Inside Amy Schumer” and opened for Patton Oswalt at Carnegie Hall, has a special, “Bridget Everett: Gynecological Wonder,” that will air on Comedy Central in July.

Mega64 is a group made up of Derrick Acosta, Rocco Botte and Shawn Chatfield whose comedy sketches and podcast center on gaming.

Nikki Glaser, soon to be seen in Judd Apatow’s “Trainwreck,” created and stars in the series “Not Safe with Nikki Glaser” for Comedy Central. She previously starred in MTV’s “Nikki and Sara Live.”

The Grawlix is a team consisting of Adam Cayton-Holland, Andrew Orvedahl and Ben Roy. Their show “Those Who Can’t” will be TruTV’s first scripted comedy series.

Ricky Velez, a panelist and correspondent on “The Nightly Show With Larry Wilmore,” will appear in Netflix’s upcoming Aziz Ansari project.


Past honorees on the list include Jenny Slate (“Obvious Child”), Amy Schumer (“Trainwreck”), T.J. Miller (“Silicon Valley”) and Rebel Wilson (“Pitch Perfect 2”). The list began in 2000 with such now-prominent names as Maria Bamford, Louis C.K., Zach Galifianakis and Patton Oswalt.