Drake and Future Top U.S. Album Chart; Taylor Swift, Ryan Adams Both Score With ‘1989’

Drake and Future’s surprise album, “What a Time to Be Alive,” debuted at No. 1 on the U.S. album sales chart for the week ending Sept. 27, according to data from Nielsen Music. Six other debuts also made it into the top 10.

The rap collab moved 375,000 units after dropping with only a day’s notice on Sunday, Sept. 20. “WATTBA” is the third-largest release of 2015 thus far, behind Drake’s “If You’re Reading This It’s Too Late,” which moved 535,000 units in February, and the Weeknd’s “Beauty Behind the Madness,” which moved 412,000 units in August.

The success of this joint effort bolsters what has already been a banner year for both rappers; Future’s “DS2” also debuted at No. 1 over the summer. It’s also worth noting that this is Drizzy’s fifth straight album to debut at No. 1.

Behind Drake and Future is Lana del Rey with “Honeymoon,” debuting at No. 2 with 116,000 units moved. The sultry songstress opened to No. 1 last year with “Ultraviolence.” “Honeymoon” marks her fourth top 10 appearance.

After being perched at No. 1 since his album bowed in August, the Weeknd’s “Beauty Behind the Madness” slipped to No. 3, down 9% with 90,000 units moved. Continued radio success of monster singles “Can’t Feel My Face” and “The Hills” keeps the R&B crooner high in sales.

In fourth place is Mac Miller’s “GO:OD AM,” which sold 87,000 units in its first week of competition. This is the rapper’s third top 10 appearance, following 2011’s “Blue Slide Park” and 2013’s “Watching Movies With the Sound Off.”

David Gilmour’s “Rattle That Lock” opened at No. 5. The Pink Floyd alum moved 71,000 units. Next up is Shinedown’s “Threat to Survival,” which moved 65,000 units in its first week, good for sixth place.

The next two slots on the chart are occupied by two versions of the same album: “1989.” Taylor Swift’s original ended the week at No. 8 with 42,000 units moved, up 4% in its 47th week on the chart. Alt rocker Ryan Adams’ cover of “1989” debuted ahead of Swift’s at No. 7, having moved 56,000 units.

Country king Luke Bryan dropped from No. 6 to No. 9; his “Kill the Lights” moved 37,000 units in its seventh week on the chart. Following Bryan is Christian rapper Andy Mineo’s “Uncomfortable,” debuting in tenth place with 35,000 units sold.

Keith Richards’ “Crosseyed Heart” debuted just outside of the top 10, finishing at No. 11 with 34,000 units moved. The rock ‘n’ roll legend’s first album in decades accompanies the release of his Netflix documentary, “Under the Influence,” which Richards calls “a scrapbook.”

More Music

  • Mandy Moore

    Mandy Moore Opens Up About Her Marriage to Ryan Adams: ‘I Was So Sad’

    Mandy Moore opened up about her marriage to Ryan Adams on Monday’s episode of Marc Maron’s “WTF” podcast. While the interview was taped before the publication of the Feb. 13 New York Times report in which multiple women, including Moore, accuse Adams of sexual misconduct or emotionally abusive behavior, she speaks freely about the “unhealthy dynamic” in [...]

  • Queen + Adam Lambert perform at

    Queen to Perform at Oscars

    Queen will perform at the Academy Awards ceremony on Sunday, the Motion Picture Academy announced on social media today. The move, which is not completely a surprise, comes in the wake of the blockbuster success of “Bohemian Rhapsody,” the biopic about the band and its late singer, Freddie Mercury. The band now performs under the [...]

  • R. Kelly

    Grand Jury Reportedly Convened in R. Kelly Case

    UPDATED: A grand jury has been convened in Cook County, Illinois, in connection with new allegations against singer R. Kelly, CNN reports, citing two sources close to the case. The latest round of accusations against the singer — who has allegations of sexual misconduct against him dating back 25 years, although he has never been [...]

  • 21 Savage

    21 Savage Talks Possible Deportation, Grammys in New Interview

    After being arrested on Feb. 3 for a visa violation, Atlanta-based rapper 21 Savage — whom few people knew was actually a U.K. citizen — spent 10 highly publicized days in ICE detention before being released on Wednesday. The following day, the New York Times sat down with him for an interview in which the [...]

  • SAN FRANCISCO, CA - February 16

    San Francisco Symphony Ushers in Chinese New Year With Glitzy Gala

    As legend has it: among the Chinese Zodiac’s 12 animals, the pig comes last because it was the final one to arrive to a party thrown by the Jade Emperor — lazy sauntering being a characteristic trait of the animal. The folktale was perhaps less fitting this past Saturday evening, as the San Francisco Symphony [...]

  • 50 Cent Power

    NYPD Officer Under Investigation for Allegedly Telling Police to Shoot 50 Cent 'on Sight'

    A New York City precinct commander is under investigation for allegedly telling officers to shoot rapper 50 Cent on sight, a police rep confirmed to Variety on Sunday. “The matter is under internal review,” an NYPD rep said, declining to answer further questions. Deputy Inspector Emanuel Gonzalez is accused of telling officers during a June 7 roll [...]

More From Our Brands

Access exclusive content