Laying the groundwork to become next year’s Tony-season juggernaut, Off Broadway musical “Hamilton” dominated the 2015 Lucille Lortel Awards, scoring ten trophies, including best musical, ahead of the show’s Broadway transfer this summer.

Another of this season’s awards favorites, Stephen Adly Guigis’ “Between Riverside and Crazy,” scored three Lortel Awards including the honor for outstanding play.

Both “Hamilton” and “Riverside” recently came up the winners of the New York Drama Critics Circle Awards. “Hamilton” led the Drama Desks nominations and “Riverside” also nabbed the Pulitzer Prize for Drama.

“Hamilton,” Lin-Manuel Miranda’s follow-up to his Tony winner “In the Heights,” took home awards in categories including musical, direction (Thomas Kail) and choreography (Andy Blankenbuehler), as well as acting wins for Miranda (lead musical actor), Phillipa Soo (lead actress), Daveed Diggs (featured actor) and featured actress (Renee Elise Goldsberry).

“Riverside” snagged acting trophies for lead actor Stephen McKinley Henderson and featured actress Lisa Colón-Zayas.

The Fiasco Theater production of “Into the Woods,” which had a run earlier this season at the Roundabout Theater Company, took the title for revival.

The lifetime achievement award went to Terrence McNally, currently part of the 2015 Tony race for his new musical “The Visit,” while Jeanine Tesori, composer of Tony contender “Fun Home,” got a spot on the Lortel Foundation’s Playwrights Sidewalk in downtown Manhattan.

Presented annually by the Off Broadway League, the Lortels this year were handed out at New York University’s Skirball Center in a ceremony hosted by Anna Chlumsky and Jesse Tyler Ferguson. Award winners were voted on by a group made up of members of the Off Broadway League, Actors’ Equity, the Stage Directors and Choreographers Society and the Lortel Foundation, as well as theater journalists, academics and Off Broadway pros.

The full list of 2015 Lucille Lortel Awards nominees and winners, with winners in bold: 

Outstanding Play

Between Riverside and Crazy

Produced by Atlantic Theater Company

Written by Stephen Adly Guirgis

Father Comes Home From the Wars (Parts 1, 2 & 3)

Produced by The Public Theater in association with American Repertory Theater

Written by Suzan-Lori Parks

The Invisible Hand

Produced by New York Theatre Workshop

Written by Ayad Akhtar

My Mañana Comes

Produced by The Playwrights Realm

Written by Elizabeth Irwin

The Nether

Produced by MCC Theater

Written by Jennifer Haley

Outstanding Musical

The Fortress of Solitude

Produced by The Public Theater in association with Dallas Theater Center

Book by Itamar Moses, Music and Lyrics by Michael Friedman

Conceived by Daniel Aukin, Based upon the novel by Jonathan Lethem


Produced by The Public Theater

Book, Music and Lyrics by Lin-Manuel Miranda

Inspired by the book Alexander Hamilton by Ron Chernow

The Lightning Thief

Produced by Theatreworks USA

Music and Lyrics by Rob Rokicki, Book by Joe Tracz

Adapted from the book by Rick Riordan

Nevermore – The Imaginary Life and Mysterious Death of Edgar Allan Poe

Produced by Radio Mouse Entertainment, Martin Hummel, Caiola Productions, Terry Schnuck, Susan Jaffe Tane, Hernreich-Horvath Productions, Catalyst Theatre in association with Fireboat Productions, Mary Cossette, Meredith Lynsey Schade

Written and Composed by Jonathan Christenson

Pretty Filthy

Produced by The Civilians in association with Jon B. Platt

Music and Lyrics by Michael Friedman, Book by Bess Wohl

Conceived by Steve Cosson, Michael Friedman & Bess Wohl

Outstanding Revival

Fashions for Men

Produced by Mint Theater Company

Written by Ferenc Molnár

Indian Ink

Produced by Roundabout Theatre Company in association with American Conservatory Theater

Written by Tom Stoppard

Into the Woods

Produced by Roundabout Theatre Company in association with McCarter Theatre Center, a Fiasco Theater production

Music and Lyrics by Stephen Sondheim, Book by James Lapine

Sticks and Bones

Produced by The New Group

Written by David Rabe

The Wayside Motor Inn

Produced by Signature Theatre

Written by A.R. Gurney

Outstanding Solo Show

Every Brilliant Thing

Produced by Scott Morfee, Jean Doumanian, Tom Wirtshafter, Patrick Daly, Kelpie Arts LLC, Scott Rudin, Marc & Lisa Biales, Terry Allen Kramer, Michael Ostin

Written by Duncan Macmillan with Jonny Donahoe

Performed by Jonny Donahoe

Josephine and I

Produced by The Public Theater

Written and Performed by Cush Jumbo

Just Jim Dale

Produced by Roundabout Theatre Company

Written and Performed by Jim Dale

The Lion

Produced by Manhattan Theatre Club

Written and Performed by Benjamin Scheuer

Outstanding Director

Michael Greif, Our Lady of Kibeho

Thomas Kail, Hamilton

Austin Pendleton, Between Riverside and Crazy

Ken Rus Schmoll, The Invisible Hand

Ivo van Hove, Scenes From a Marriage

Outstanding Choreographer

Andy Blankenbuehler, Hamilton

Camille A. Brown, The Fortress of Solitude

Denis Jones, Piece of My Heart: The Bert Berns Story

Laura Krewski, Nevermore – The Imaginary Life and Mysterious Death of Edgar Allan Poe

Lisa Shriver, Into the Woods

Outstanding Lead Actor in a Play

Usman Ally, The Invisible Hand

Carson Elrod, The Heir Apparent

Stephen McKinley Henderson, Between Riverside and Crazy

Owiso Odera, Our Lady of Kibeho

Bill Pullman, Sticks and Bones

Outstanding Lead Actress in a Play

Quincy Tyler Bernstine, Grand Concourse

Anna Gunn, Sex With Strangers

Jan Maxwell, The City of Conversation

Epatha Merkerson, While I Yet Live

Tonya Pinkins, Rasheeda Speaking

Outstanding Lead Actor in a Musical

Adam Chanler-Berat, The Fortress of Solitude

Claybourne Elder, Allegro

Lin-Manuel Miranda, Hamilton

Leslie Odom Jr., Hamilton

Ben Steinfeld, Into the Woods

Outstanding Lead Actress in a Musical

Michelle Knight, DISENCHANTED! The Hilarious Hit Musical

Jennifer Mudge, Into the Woods

Sally Murphy, The Threepenny Opera

Phillipa Soo, Hamilton

Lillias White, Texas in Paris

Outstanding Featured Actor in a Play

Victor Almanzar, Between Riverside and Crazy

Jacob Ming-Trent, Father Comes Home From the Wars (Parts 1, 2 & 3)

Jesse Pennington, Bootycandy

Will Pullen, Punk Rock

Scott Shepherd, The Village Bike

Outstanding Featured Actress in a Play

Sophia Anne Caruso, The Nether

Sun Mee Chomet, brownsville song (b-side for tray)

Liza Colón-Zayas, Between Riverside and Crazy

Beth Dixon, The City of Conversation

Deirdre O’Connell, By the Water

Outstanding Featured Actor in a Musical

Daveed Diggs, Hamilton

Andy Grotelueschen, Into the Woods

Brian d’Arcy James, Hamilton

Kevin Mambo, The Fortress of Solitude

Steve Rosen, Pretty Filthy

Outstanding Featured Actress in a Musical

Renée Elise Goldsberry, Hamilton

Luba Mason, Pretty Filthy

Lulu Picart, DISENCHANTED! The Hilarious Hit Musical

Jessica Tyler Wright, Allegro

Emily Young, Into the Woods

Outstanding Scenic Design

Brett J. Banakis, Big Love

Laura Jellinek, The Nether

Derek McLane, Into the Woods

Walt Spangler, Between Riverside and Crazy

Jan Versweyveld, Scenes From a Marriage

Outstanding Costume Design

Candice Donnelly, Indian Ink

Bretta Gerecke, Nevermore – The Imaginary Life and Mysterious Death of Edgar Allan Poe

Clint Ramos, Bootycandy

Paul Tazewell, Hamilton

Anthony Ward, Josephine and I

Outstanding Lighting Design

Howell Binkley, Hamilton

David Lander, The Library

Tyler Micoleau, The Invisible Hand

Ben Stanton, The Nether

Japhy Weideman, Punk Rock

 Outstanding Sound Design

Mikhail Fiksel, My Mañana Comes

Leah Gelpe, The Invisible Hand

Daniel Kluger and Brandon Wolcott, The Nether

Nevin Steinberg, Hamilton

Matt Tierney, Pocatello


Lifetime Achievement Award

Terrence McNally

Playwrights’ Sidewalk Inductee

Jeanine Tesori

Edith Oliver Service to Off-Broadway Award

Nancy Nagel Gibbs