You will be redirected back to your article in seconds

John Cameron Mitchell, Stephen Schwartz to Win Special 2015 Tony Awards

John Cameron Mitchell and “Wicked” composer Stephen Schwartz will win special 2015 Tony Awards, with Mitchell earning the recognition for his head-turning return to the lead role of the musical that he co-created, “Hedwig and the Angry Inch,” and Schwartz scoring the Tonys’ honor for humanitarian or charitable organizations.

Mitchell originated the title role in the show’s 1998 Off Broadway premiere, but as one of the replacement actors who has followed Neil Patrick Harris into the current Broadway production, he isn’t eligible for consideration in this year’s competitive acting race at the Tonys. During last year’s awards season, fans of Mitchell and of “Hedwig” registered dissatisfaction with the fact that the actor-writer-director wasn’t eligible as one of the co-creators of the show since the production was considered a revival rather than a new musical (although the title had never before played Broadway).

The special Tony award corrects that. It’ll also give a nice publicity boost to “Hedwig,” in which Darren Criss recently began his starring stint following Mitchell’s run.

Popular on Variety

Meanwhile, Schwartz, the composer whose string of enduring musical titles includes “Pippin” and “Godspell,” will take home the Isabelle Stevenson Tony Award for his work supporting artists and emerging creatives with the ASCAP Musical Theater Workshop, the ASCAP Foundation and the Dramatists Guild. Schwartz was president of the Dramatists Guild for six years before recently stepping down.

Mitchell and Schwartz will receive their Tonys as part of the 2015 Tony Awards ceremony, set to be broadcast live June 7 from Radio City Music Hall. The nominees for this year’s competitive categories will be announced April 28.

More Legit

  • Jagged Little Pill review

    Broadway Review: 'Jagged Little Pill'

    Nearly 25 years after “Jagged Little Pill” hit the shelves of record stores, Alanis Morissette’s innovative 1995 album has arrived on Broadway under the muscular direction of Diane Paulus, who launched this galvanic production at the American Repertory Theater. The show’s supportive book by screenwriter Diablo Cody interprets Morissette’s musical idiom as a universal domestic [...]

  • Claire Warden

    Listen: Let's Talk About Sex Onstage

    The craft of intimacy direction is taking Broadway by storm — and on the latest episode of Variety’s Stagecraft, Broadway’s first intimacy director explains why, and breaks down the ways in which she’s helping to revolutionize how actors get intimate onstage. Listen to this week’s podcast below: Warden, whose credits this season include “Jagged Little [...]

  • Dan Stevens

    Mark Addy, Dan Stevens Head Broadway Cast of 'Hangmen'

    Mark Addy and Dan Stevens will appear in the Broadway premiere of Martin McDonagh’s “Hangmen.” Addy, best known for his work on “Game of Thrones” and “The Full Monty,” starred in the off-Broadway production of the black comedy. It’s the first time Stevens, beloved for his turn on “Downton Abbey,” has appeared on the Great [...]

  • Dear Evan Hansen Jordan Fisher

    Jordan Fisher Joins 'Dear Evan Hansen' in Title Role on Broadway

    Jordan Fisher will be Broadway’s next Evan Hansen, joining the cast of “Dear Evan Hansen” in the musical’s title role. Fisher, best known to theater enthusiasts for his stint in “Hamilton” and playing Mark Cohen in Fox’s “Rent: Live,” will play the role for a limited 16-week engagement starting Jan. 28. “Evan Hansen is a [...]

  • SUBJECTS] seen at the Lincoln Center

    Lincoln Center's David Geffen Hall Set for Major Renovation

    Lincoln Center’s David Geffen Hall is set to undergo a major renovation that will lead to the facility being closed for months-long stretches starting in 2022. Lincoln Center and the New York Philharmonic announced Monday that the overhaul will require the temporary shuttering of Geffen Hall from May 2022 through October 2022 and again from [...]

More From Our Brands

Access exclusive content