You will be redirected back to your article in seconds

Drama League Nominations: Bradley Cooper, Helen Mirren, Jake Gyllenhaal (FULL LIST)

Bradley Cooper, Helen Mirren, Jake Gyllenhaal, Ewan McGregor, Elisabeth Moss and Bill Nighy are all in competition — in the same category — for the 2015 Drama League Awards.

For its annual round of theater nominations, the Drama League only has five competitive categories, but production categories can stretch to a dozen, and the single acting category (this year running to 47 nominees, not counting the nine who can’t win because they’ve won in previous years) encompasses performers in every sort of production: play and musical, Broadway and Off Broadway.

Mirren starrer “The Audience” and Gyllenhaal outing “Constellations” are among the Broadway contenders in the new play category, alongside “Wolf Hall,” “Hand to God” and “The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time,” as well as Off Broadway titles such as “An Octoroon” and recent Pulitzer winner “Between Riverside and Crazy.”

“Finding Neverland” made the musical list (after missing out on an Outer Critics nom yesterday), as did “An American in Paris,” “Fun Home,” “Something Rotten!” and “It Shoulda Been You.” Off Broadway buzzmagnet “Hamilton” also is among the titles in the same category.

Stephen Daldry — currently represented on Broadway with “The Audience” and “Skylight” — and Joel Grey are among the previously announced winners of the Drama League’s special awards.

The League, a nonprofit dedicated to theater development, support and education, has been handing out awards since 1935, making them the oldest theater awards in the country. The 2015 winners will be named during a luncheon ceremony May 15 at the Marriott Marquis in midtown Manhattan.

And the 2015 Drama League Award nominees are:


The Audience

Between Riverside and Crazy



The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time

Hand to God

An Octoroon

Punk Rock

Scenes from a Marriage

Wolf Hall, Parts One & Two


Big Love

The Elephant Man

The Heidi Chronicles

The Iceman Cometh

It’s Only a Play


Tamburlaine, Parts I and II

This Is Our Youth

You Can’t Take It with You 


An American in Paris

Finding Neverland

Fun Home

Ghost Quartet


It Shoulda Been You

Something Rotten!

The Visit



Into the Woods

The King and I

On The Town 

On The Twentieth Century


One winner is selected from this category.  The recipient can only receive this award once during his or her career.

Usman Ally, The Invisible Hand

Christian Borle, Something Rotten!

Steven Boyer, Hand to God

Sterling K. Brown, Father Comes Home from the Wars Parts 1, 2 & 3

Michael Cerveris, Fun Home

Kristin Chenoweth, On The Twentieth Century

Bradley Cooper, The Elephant Man

Leanne Cope, An American in Paris

Jim Dale, Just Jim Dale

Tyne Daly, It Shoulda Been You

Daveed Diggs, Hamilton

Robert Fairchild, An American in Paris

Renee Fleming, Living on Love

Kelsey Grammer, Finding Neverland

Jake Gyllenhaal, Constellations

Stephen McKinley Henderson, Between Riverside and Crazy

Lisa Howard, It Shoulda Been You

Brian D’Arcy James, Something Rotten!

Rebecca Naomi Jones, Big Love

Cush Jumbo, Josephine and I, The River

Andy Karl, On The Twentieth Century

Judy Kuhn, Fun Homec

Lesley Manville, Ghosts

Jan Maxwell, The City of Conversation

Richard McCabe, The Audience

Rob McClure, Honeymoon in Vegas

Ewan McGregor, The Real Thing

Ben Miles, Wolf Hall, Parts One & Two

Ruthie Ann Miles, The King and I

Lin-Manuel Miranda, Hamilton

Helen Mirren, The Audience

Matthew Morrison, Finding Neverland

Elisabeth Moss, The Heidi Chronicles

Carey Mulligan, Skylight

Tam Mutu, Doctor Zhivago

Bill Nighy, Skylight

Kelli O’Hara, The King and I

Nathaniel Parker, Wolf Hall, Parts One & Two

Bryce Pinkham, The Heidi Chronicles

Roger Rees, The Visit

Chita Rivera, The Visit

Alexander Sharp, The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time

Douglas Sills, Living on Love

John Douglas Thompson, Tamburlaine, Parts I and II, The Iceman Cometh

Julie White, Airline Highway

Ruth Wilson, Constellations

Tony Yazbeck, On The Town

The Drama League also wishes to acknowledge the previous recipients of the Distinguished Performance Award who appeared in New York productions this season.  As the Award can only be won once in a performer’s lifetime, they are ineligible this season.  Their exemplary work, however, is recognized and applauded.

Kathleen Chalfant, A Walk in the Woods

Stockard Channing, It’s Only A Play

Glenn Close, A Delicate Balance

Rosemary Harris, Indian Ink

Hugh Jackman, The River

Cherry Jones, When We Were Young and Unafraid

James Earl Jones, You Can’t Take It With You

Nathan Lane, The Iceman Cometh, It’s Only A Play

John Lithgow, A Delicate Balance, King Lear


Joel Grey


WNET: Neal Shapiro and David Horn


Stephen Daldry

Popular on Variety

More Legit

  • Broadway Review: David Byrne's 'American Utopia'

    Broadway Review: David Byrne's 'American Utopia'

    One constant of David Byrne’s long and prolific career is his ability to grow a seemingly simple idea into something brilliant, whether it’s the melody of “Road to Nowhere” or the concept of the “Stop Making Sense” tour some 36 years ago, where the premise of bringing out nine musicians, one at a time per [...]

  • The Sound Inside review

    Broadway Review: 'The Sound Inside' Starring Mary-Louise Parker

    Mary-Louise Parker will take your breath away with her deeply felt and sensitively drawn portrait of a tenured Yale professor who treasures great literature, but has made no room in her life for someone to share that love with. The other thesp in this two-hander is Will Hochman, endearing in the supportive role of a [...]

  • Little Shop of Horrors review

    Off Broadway Review: 'Little Shop of Horrors'

    With its strains of kitschy doo-wop and its sci-fi B-movie inspirations, the quaint 1982 musical “Little Shop of Horrors” hardly seems a thing of modern-day revivalism, even despite its touches of S&M. Yet this year alone, not only is there an Off Broadway production of the blackly comic “Little Shop” featuring Jonathan Groff of Netflix’s [...]

  • The Lightning Thief review musical

    Broadway Review: 'The Lightning Thief,' The Musical

    “It’s a lot to take in right now,” says Percy Jackson, the teen hero of “The Lightning Thief,” the kid-centric fantasy musical (based on the popular Y.A. novel) that’s now on Broadway after touring the country and playing an Off Broadway run. You could say that’s a bit of an understatement from contemporary teen Percy [...]

  • The Rose Tattoo review

    Broadway Review: 'The Rose Tattoo' Starring Marisa Tomei

    “The Rose Tattoo” is what happens when a poet writes a comedy — something strange, but kind of lovely. The same might be said of director Trip Cullman’s production: Strange, if not exactly lovely. Even Marisa Tomei, so physically delicate and expressively refined, seems an odd choice to play the lusty and passionate protagonist, Serafina [...]

  • Obit-Roy-B

    Former NATO President Roy B. White Dies at 93

    Roy B. White, former president and chairman of the National Association of Theater Owners, died of natural causes Oct. 11 in Naples, Fla. He was 93. White ran the 100-screen independent theater circuit, Mid–States Theaters Inc. In addition to his career, he did extensive work on behalf of charities and non-profits. He was vice president [...]

More From Our Brands

Access exclusive content