Acclaimed international directors Claire Denis, Agnieszka Holland and Jia Zhang-ke will serve as the inaugural jury of Platform — the Toronto International Film Festival’s new program showcasing roughly a dozen films by mid-career directors — it was announced today.

The jury will award $25,000 to the best film in Platform at the fest’s awards ceremony on September 20.

“We have a long history with Zhang-ke, Claire and Agnieszka,” said festival director and CEO Piers Handling. “They are master filmmakers with unique voices that we have championed throughout the years, both at the festival and in our year-round programming.”

“Chocolat,” “Trouble Every Day” and “Bastards” are among several Denis films that have screened at the festival over the past 16 years. Denis is currently cowriting, with Zadie Smith, an English-language sci-fi pic. Holland’s Toronto Festival movies include “Europa Europa,” “Washington Square” and “In Darkness.” Almost all of Zhang-ke’s films, including “Platform,” have screened at Toronto, with “Mountains May Depart” being his latest.

“We are thankful to these visionary filmmakers for making the time to join us this September,” said festival artistic director Cameron Bailey. “We can’t wait for the conversations they’ll have about the Platform films.”

Last week the festival announced some of its 40th anniversary programming, including an array of free public screenings of fest faves taking place throughout the summer and an art exhibition featuring archival photography.

Running from September 8 to April 3, 2016, the exhibition, called “In Love With the Stars,” will feature three archival collections from the Film Reference Library and a free screening of “Vertigo,” with a live performance by the Toronto Symphony of Bernard Herrmann’s score, on September 20.

The 40th annual Toronto International Film Festival runs from September 10 to 20.