You will be redirected back to your article in seconds

‘Star Wars’ Pushes U.S. Box Office to $11 Billion for First Time

The U.S. box office has hit the $11 billion mark for 2015 for the first time, thanks to a final push by “Star Wars: The Force Awakens.”

Domestic box office receipts for this year crossed the milestone on Tuesday, according to Rentrak. With two days left in 2015, the final number will hit about $1.1 billion.

This year’s total will be about $200 million ahead of the previous record of $10,919,694,802 set in 2013. And it’s 7.2% ahead of the 2014 mark of $10,356,099,042, which declined 5.2% from 2013.

Disney’s “The Force Awakens” took in $31.4 million on Monday in U.S. theaters for a domestic total of $571.4 million in only 11 days. The seventh “Star Wars” film may catch Universal’s “Jurassic World,” the top 2015 grosser at $652 million, by the end of the week.

“The Force Awakens” is already the fifth-biggest domestic grosser of all time, trailing “Avatar” at $760 million, “Titanic” at $658 million, “Jurassic World” at $652 million and “Marvel’s The Avengers” at $623 million.

Disney also had the third and fourth highest grossers this year with “Avengers: Age of Ultron” with $459  million and “Inside Out” with $356.5 million as the Pixar title became a surprise blockbuster. “Age of Ultron” is the ninth-highest domestic grosser of all time.

“Inside Out” edged Universal’s “Furious 7,” which drove to $353 million in domestic box office. Universal also had the sixth largest grosser with “Minions” taking in $336 million.

Universal will win the box office crown with more than 21%, followed by Disney at nearly 20%.

Lionsgate’s “The Hunger Games: Mockingjay — Part 2” took seventh with $265.9 million, followed by Fox’s “The Martian” at $225 million. Disney’s “Cinderella” came in ninth at $201 million followed by Sony’s “Spectre” with $196.5 million.

The top 10 films combined to gross more than $3.6 billion.


More Film

  • Bruce Tufeld Dead: Hollywood Agent and

    Hollywood Agent and Manager Bruce Tufeld Dies at 66

    Bruce Tufeld, a Hollywood agent and manager who once repped stars like Rob Lowe, Laura Dern, and Kelsey Grammer, died Tuesday in Los Angeles as a result of complications from liver cancer. He was 66. The son of respected television announcer Richard “Dick” Tufeld and Adrienne Tufeld, Bruce began his career as an assistant at ICM [...]

  • Bruce Dern

    Film News Roundup: Bruce Dern's 'The Lears' Bought by Vertical for February Release

    In today’s film news roundup, Bruce Dern’s “The Lears” and “Angels Are Made of Light” are acquired, Cold War drama “Stanley Cage” is launched and a documentary about Madonna’s early music career gets a release. ACQUISITIONS Vertical Entertainment has acquired North American rights from NeoClassics Films to “The Lears,” starring Bruce Dern in a modern-day [...]

  • Octavia Spencer Bryce Dallas Howard

    Octavia Spencer, Bryce Dallas Howard to Reunite for Comedy 'Fairy Tale Ending'

    Octavia Spencer and Bryce Dallas Howard will reunite for the ensemble comedy “Fairy Tale Ending.” Jim Hecht (“Ice Age: The Meltdown) and Tracy McMillan (“Marvel’s Runaways”) are writing the screenplay. Howard will also produce the Universal movie through her Nine Muses Entertainment alongside Eric Carlson and Susan Carlson. Seth MacFarlane and Erica Huggins will produce [...]

  • Robert Smith, Longtime Executive at DuArt

    Robert Smith, Longtime Executive at New York's DuArt Film Labs, Dies at 88

    Robert Smith, a longtime executive with New York’s DuArt Film Labs, died Jan. 11 in Montvale, N.J. He was 88. Smith spent some 62 years with DuArt, the film processing and post-production facility founded in 1922 in the penthouse of an automobile garage in Midtown. Smith rose to president of DuArt before retiring in 2015. [...]

  • Bird Box

    Los Angeles On-Location Feature Filming Surges 12.2% in 2018

    On-location feature filming in Greater Los Angeles expanded impressively in 2018, gaining 12.2% to 4,377 shooting days, according to FilmL.A. Production activity for feature films rose 15.5% to 1,078 shooting days during the fourth quarter, with 146 days coming from projects receiving California tax credits — including Netflix’s “Bird Box,” Quentin Tarantino’s “Once Upon a [...]

  • 'Ghostbusters': First Look at Jason Reitman's

    Watch the First Teaser for Jason Reitman's 'Ghostbusters' Sequel

    If there’s something strange in your neighborhood, it’s time to watch a teaser for Jason Reitman’s “Ghostbusters” forthcoming film. Sony Pictures released a first look at the upcoming movie, a sequel to the 1984 classic. The footage shows a glimpse of the memorable station wagon Ecto-1. The studio announced on Tuesday that the wheels are [...]

More From Our Brands

Access exclusive content