Paradigm Talent Agency Signs Icelandic Helmer Baldvin Z (EXCLUSIVE)

PARIS — Underscoring its ambition to tap into the growing Nordic filmmakers pool, Paradigm talent agency has signed Baldvin Z, an up-and-coming Nordic helmer whose sophomore feature “Life in a Fishbowl” repped Iceland in the foreign-language Oscar race.

On top of becoming Iceland’s highest-grossing local movie in 2014, “Life in a Fishbowl” won a record 12 Edda Awards (Iceland’s top film honor). The movie even surpassed Baltasar Kormákur’s “The Deep,” which won 11 Edda nods in 2013, and outearned all Hollywood movies, including “Guardians of the Galaxy,” at the Icelandic box office.

Set in pre-recession Iceland, the multilayered drama follows three characters leading double lives: a struggling single mother, an ex-footballer fast-tracking in the banking world and a troubled writer who has turned into a full-time drunk.

“Life in a Fishbowl” has already sparked interest to remake it a “True Detective”-inspired series that would introduce a new cast each season.

Baldvin Z is now collaborating with Kormákur on his next project and is co-directing the 10-part crime thriller drama “Trapped” for Kormakur’s Icelandic shingle RVK Studios. “Trapped” follows the investigation of a grisly murder in a small town that’s on a lockdown after getting hit by a powerful blizzard. Iceland’s most expensive and ambitious series ever, “Trapped” has already sold to the U.K.’s BBC and Germany’s ZDF, among other international channels.

Baldvin Z is the latest in a string of Nordic talent who have signed with Paradigm. These include actor-writer-showrunners Greg Poehler and Josephine Bornebusch (“Welcome to Sweden”); thesps Lena Olin; Gustaf Skarsgard (“Vikings”); Valter Skarsgard; Nanna “Oh Land” Fabricius (“The Salvation”); Birgitte Hjort Sorenson (“Borgen,” “Pitch Perfect 2”); Thorbjorn Harr (“Vikings,” “Younger”); Edda Magnason (“Monica Z”); Peter Franzen (“The Gunman”); Amalia Holm Bjelke (“Alena”); and writer-directors Ole Bornedal (“1864”); Jesper Ganslandt (“Apan”); Mads Matthiesen (“The Model”); Jens Jonnson (“Snabba Cash 3”); Per Hanefjord (“The Hidden Child”); Maria Karlsson (writer of the Snabba Cash trilogy), and Mans Marlind & Bjorn Stein (“Underworld: Awakening,” creators of “The Bridge”).


More TV

  • Emmys: 'Better Call Saul' Short Loses

    'Better Call Saul' Short Loses Emmy Nominations in Light of Category Rule Violation

    Better Call AMC: Two Emmy nominations for the network’s short-form series “Better Call Saul Employee Training: Madrigal Electromotive Security” have been pulled after it was deemed ineligible for competition. The Television Academy recently discovered that the series didn’t meet the minimum required runtime of two minutes for at least six episodes — a new stipulation [...]

  • The Boys Amazon Prime

    ‘The Boys’ Lands Early Season 2 Renewal at Amazon

    Amazon has renewed “The Boys” for a second season ahead of the show’s series premiere next week. The streamer also announced that Aya Cash will join the show in the second season. Season 1 of “The Boys” will debut on July 26. It is based on the New York Times best-selling comic of the same [...]

  • Variety Cord Cutting Placeholder Cable

    Big Blackout Looms as CBS, AT&T Go Down to Wire on Renewal Talks

    A blackout affecting CBS stations in major markets throughout the country looms as CBS and AT&T executives go down to the wire on negotiations for a retransmission consent deal covering 28 O&O stations. The sides have sparred publicly during the past few days as 11 p.m. PT Friday expiration of the previous contract approached. AT&T [...]


    TV News Roundup: Netflix Releases Season 3 Trailer For 'Dear White People'

    In today’s TV news roundup, Netflix releases a trailer for the third season of “Dear White People,” and Disney casts Billy Campbell and Kathy Najimy in upcoming Disney Junior series, “The Rocketeer.” CASTING Billy Campbell and Kathy Najimy have joined the cast of forthcoming animated series “The Rocketeer.” The seasoned actors will voice character Kitana [...]

  • Andrew Lincoln as Rick Grimes - The

    Andrew Lincoln's ‘Walking Dead’ Movies to Be Released Only in Theaters

    The first planned movie centered on “The Walking Dead” character Rick Grimes will now run in theaters rather than on AMC. The announcement was made with a brief teaser video played at San Diego Comic-Con on Friday, with the video ending with the words “Only in Theaters.” The film will be distributed by Universal Pictures. [...]

  • Contract Placeholder Business WGA ATA Agent

    ICM Responds to WGA Packaging Lawsuit: Claims are 'Baseless' and 'Absurd'

    ICM Partners has asked a judge to dismiss the lawsuit filed against four major talent agencies by the Writers Guild of America as part of the larger war between agencies and the guild over packaging fees on TV series and movies. The guild sued ICM, CAA, WME and UTA in California state court in April, [...]

More From Our Brands

Access exclusive content