Gabourey Sidibe, Blythe Danner Among 2015 NY Women in Film and Television Honorees

New York Women in Film and Television has named a group of 2015 Muse Awards honorees that includes actresses Gabourey Sidibe, Blythe Danner and Patricia Clarkson as well as BBC America executive Sarah Barnett and Marvel Studios’ Victoria Alonso.

Presented every year by the female-focused nonprofit NYWIFT and recognizing distaff achievement in film, TV and digital, the Muse Awards ceremony will also encompass the Loreen Arbus Changemaker Award, which this year goes to Lizz Winstead, the radio and TV personality who started the organization Lady Parts Justice, which fights for women’s reproductive rights.

Sidibe earns a Muse trophy for a career that has included a breakout role in “Precious” as well as stints in “The Big C,” “American Horror Story” and current offerings “Empire” and “Difficult People.” Tony and Emmy winner Danner, meanwhile, recently appeared in “I’ll See You in My Dreams” and is currently shooting the ABC miniseries “Madoff,” while Clarkson, a Tony nominee for her role in Broadway’s “The Elephant Man,” has a list of TV and film credits that includes “Six Feet Under,” “Far from Heaven” and, more recently, “The Maze Runner” and “Last Weekend.”

Barnett, currently the president and general manager at BBC America, has also had leadership posts at BBC in London and at Sundance TV. Alonso, in her capacity at Marvel, has exec produced films including “The Avengers” and “The Guardians of the Galaxy.”

The 35th annual Muse Awards are set for Dec. 10 at Manhattan’s New York Hilton Midtown. Honorees in prior years have included Meryl Streep, Claire Danes, Martha Stewart and Cicely Tyson.

More Film

  • Come as You Are review

    SXSW Film Review: 'Come as You Are'

    The rare remake that’s actually a slight improvement on its predecessor, Richard Wong’s “Come as You Are” translates Geoffrey Enthoven’s 2011 Belgian “Hasta la Vista” to middle America. Other changes are less substantial, but this seriocomedy has a less formulaic feel than the original while remaining a crowd-pleasing buddy pic-caper with a soft-pedaled minority empowerment [...]

  • Strange Negotiations review

    SXSW Film Review: 'Strange Negotiations'

    In a era when some mainstream entertainers have transitioned to targeting faith-based audiences, David Bazan is moving in the other direction. The gifted songwriter’s ersatz band Pedro the Lion was perhaps the most successful Christian indie rock act of its time, and the first to significantly cross over to secular fans. Then he ditched that persona (and [...]

  • Bluebird review

    SXSW Film Review: ‘Bluebird’

    As affectionate as a love letter but as substantial as an infomercial, Brian Loschiavo’s “Bluebird” may be of most interest to casual and/or newly converted country music fans who have occasionally wondered about the songwriters behind the songs. There’s a better than even-money chance that anyone who’s a loyal and longtime aficionado of the musical [...]

  • ‘Wonder Park’ Tops Studios’ TV Ad

    ‘Wonder Park’ Tops Studios’ TV Ad Spending for the Fourth Week in a Row

    In this week’s edition of the Variety Movie Commercial Tracker, powered by the TV advertising attention analytics company iSpot.tv, Paramount Pictures claims the top spot in spending for the fourth week in row with “Wonder Park.” Ads placed for the animated film had an estimated media value of $5.18 million through Sunday for 1,718 national [...]

  • Michael B. Jordan Jordan Vogt-Roberts

    Film News Roundup: Michael B. Jordan, Jordan Vogt-Roberts Team for Monster Movie

    In today’s film news roundup, Michael B. Jordan is producing a creature feature, billiards champ Cisero Murphy is getting a movie, the sixth Terminator movie gets a title, and Graham King receives an honor. PROJECT UNVEILED New Regency and Michael B. Jordan’s Outlier Society are partnering on an untitled monster movie from “Kong: Skull Island” [...]

  • Nicolas Cage

    Nicolas Cage to Star in Martial Arts Actioner 'Jiu Jitsu'

    Nicolas Cage will star in the martial arts actioner “Jiu Jitsu,” based on the comic book of the same name. The cast will also include Alain Moussi, who stars in the “Kickboxer” franchise. Dimitri Logothetis is producing with Martin Barab and directing from a script he wrote with Jim McGrath. Highland Film Group is handling [...]

  • Chinese success of Thai film "Bad

    Chinese, Thai Shingles Pact for Co-Production Fund at FilMart

    A deal to establish a 100 million yuan ($14.9 million) co-production fund between China and Thailand was struck at FilMart on Tuesday to help launch TV and film projects that will appeal to Chinese and Southeast Asian audience. The deal that was struck by China’s Poly Film Investment Co., TW Capital from Thailand and Thai [...]

More From Our Brands

Access exclusive content