Howard Rodman and Joan Meyerson are running for a two-year term as president of the Writers Guild of America West.

The guild released a list of candidates chosen by its nominating committee Friday — including several prominent newcomers to WGA politics such as Zak Penn, Mara Brock Akil and Meredith Stiehm. Candidates can still be nominated for the next month by petition with 50 signatures and a July 23 deadline.

David A. Goodman and Carl Gottlieb are seeking the VP slot, currently held by Rodman. Marjorie David and Aaron Mendelsohn are seeking the secretary-treasurer post, currently held by Gottlieb.

Seventeen candidates are seeking eight board seats, including incumbent Patric Verrone, best known for leading the WGA during the 2007-08 strike, and “Captain Phillips” screenwriter Billy Ray. Other incumbents seeking re-election are Carleton Eastlake, Alfredo Barrios Jr., Karen Harris and Ari B. Rubin.

The other candidates include Penn, Brock Akil, Stiehm, Andrea Berloff, Cynthia Riddle, Jeff Westbrook, Cole Haddon, Aaron Fullerton, Courtney Ellinger, Luvh Rakhe and Dan Wilcox.

Brock Akil is the creator and executive producer on “The Game” and has producing credits on “Girlfriends,” “Cougar Town” and “The Jamie Foxx Show.” Stiehm is executive producer on “Homeland” and has credits on “The Bridge” and “Cold Case.”

Penn has story credit on “The Avengers” and wrote the script for “X-Men: The Last Stand.”

Berloff wrote the screenplay for the upcoming “Straight Outta Compton.” Rahke is a producer and writer on “New Girl.” Westbrook has extensive credits on “Futurama” and “The Simpsons,” winning three WGA awards.

Wilcox, a former board member, has credits on “M*A*S*H,” “Newhart” and “Growing Pains.”

Results will be announced Sept. 21. The WGA West has about 8,000 members while the WGA East reps about 4,000 members.

Current WGA West president Chris Keyser is precluded by guild rules from seeking a third consecutive term.

Rodman is in his second term as VP and has been active in guild politics for more than a decade with screen credits on “Joe Gould’s Secret,” “Savage Grace” and “August.” He’s also a professor and former chair of the writing division at the USC School of Cinematic Arts and an artistic director of the Sundance Institute Screenwriting Labs.

Meyerson won Writers Guild awards in 2007 and 2011 for the “National Memorial Day Concert” telecasts on PBS. She served on the WGA West board during 1991-95, 2002-04 and 2005-09.

Gottlieb is a long-time WGA activist and is best known for writing the screenplay for “Jaws.” Goodman is an executive producer on “Family Guy.”

David’s credits include “90210” and “Satisfaction.” Mendelsohn’s credits include producing “Secret Diary of an American Cheerleader” and writing “Air Bud.”

Keyser topped Verrone in 2011 and ran unopposed in 2013. Keyser offered a marked low-key contrast with Verrone’s confrontational style, highlighted by the high drama of the 100-day strike that ended on Feb. 12, 2008.

Since the strike, the WGA, SAG-AFTRA and the DGA have remained on relatively good terms with employers, and the last round of negotiations with the Alliance of Motion Picture and Television Producers was completed largely under the radar and without controversy.

The WGA East, which negotiates jointly with the WGA West, announced earlier this week that Michael Winship is running unopposed for a fifth two-year term as president.