You will be redirected back to your article in seconds

The Writers Guild of America West has selected Ben Affleck to receive the 2015 Valentine Davies Award in recognition of his humanitarian efforts and service to the global community.

Affleck will be honored at the WGA Awards ceremony on Feb. 14 at the Hyatt Regency Century Plaza in Los Angeles.

“Ben Affleck needs no introduction here,” said WGA West president Chris Keyser. “Yet this Oscar-winning screenwriter – twice nominated for Writers Guild Awards – and much-lauded actor-director-producer has somehow found the time to become an engaged leader in humanitarian causes here and abroad.”

“Perhaps most crucially, Affleck founded the Eastern Congo Initiative, a grant-making and advocacy group that works toward an eastern Congo with opportunities for economic and social development and the flourishing of a robust civil society,” Keyser added. “Affleck has traveled extensively in support of these initiatives with energy, commitment, intelligence and effectiveness, devoting large amounts of time and presence. And in doing so, he has raised the bar for what it means, in this community, to be a socially committed citizen.”

Affleck founded the Eastern Congo Initiative in 2010. It’s the first U.S.-based advocacy and grant-making organization focused on working with the people of eastern Congo to increase the quality and quantity of investments in a region mired by conflict and instability. Since its inception, ECI has made 80 grants to create and support effective and sustainable economic and social development opportunities.

Affleck also supports Feeding America (for which he helped launch the “Small Change” campaign with Ellen DeGeneres), Paralyzed Veterans of America, A-T Children’s Project and the Dana-Farber Cancer Institute’s Jimmy Fund.

Affleck directed, produced and starred in “Argo,” for which he won a best picture Oscar, a Directors Guild of America Award, a Producers Guild of America Award and a Screen Actors Guild Award as a member of the film’s ensemble.

Affleck starred in David Fincher’s “Gone Girl,” and upcoming film roles include “Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice” and “Live by Night.”

Past Valentine Davies Award recipients include Phil Alden Robinson, Norman Lear, Neal Baer, Larry Gelbart, Tom Schulman, Carl Reiner, Susannah Grant, Phil Rosenthal and, most recently, Sam Simon.