You will be redirected back to your article in seconds

R&B Artist Leon Bridges Pens Original Song for Will Smith’s ‘Concussion’ (EXCLUSIVE)

The track, called 'So Long,' could figure into this year's best original song Oscar race.

Fresh off critical acclaim for his hit song “Coming Home” earlier this year, R&B singer/songwriter Leon Bridges has provided a new song to Peter Landesman’s upcoming NFL drama “Concussion.” The soulful tune, called “So Long,” plays over the closing credits of the film, which opens Dec. 25 in the thick of the professional football season.

“I’m so glad to have Leon’s music in the movie,” Landesman said. “His songs are a shot straight from the heart, full of feeling and emotion, power and heartbreak. And it’s a perfect match for the movie, because I could describe Dr. Bennet Omalu the same way — in the movie, he’s a spiritual person, standing up on his own against a world of powerful forces, using only his smarts, his courage and the knowledge that he’s right.”

In the film, Will Smith stars as Omalu, who in 2002 discovered an empirical link between head trauma caused by the sport of football and a degenerative brain disease he dubbed chronic traumatic encephalopathy, or CTE. “Concussion” dramatizes his research on the brains of former players Mike Webster, Terry Long, Andre Waters, Justin Strzelczyk and Tom McHale, as well as his courageous stand against a corporate giant eager to snuff out his work.

“So Long,” meanwhile, could easily figure into what is shaping up to be a strong best original song Oscar race. The pool of potential star performers on the upcoming 88th annual Academy Awards is pretty deep, featuring the likes of Bridges, Brian Wilson, Lady Gaga, Miley Cyrus, Wiz Khalifa, Alicia Keys and Sam Smith, among others. That ought to leave Oscarcast producers, eager to land a wide audience, licking their chops.

Bridges has posted a 15-second preview of “So Long” to his Instagram page. The song’s music is by Bridges and Joshua Block, Austin Jenkins, and Chris Vivion of Niles City Sound, with lyrics by Bridges. It will be available on all digital sales platforms, including Spotify, iTunes and Amazon, on Nov. 20.

Popular on Variety

More Film

  • Jon Voight'Maleficent: Mistress of Evil' film

    President Trump to Award Jon Voight the National Medal of Arts

    President Trump will present actor Jon Voight, musician Allison Krauss, and mystery writer James Patterson with the national medal of arts. Voight is one of few in Hollywood who has been vocal about his support of President Trump in the past, calling him “the greatest president of this century.” The White House announced four recipients [...]

  • Zack Snyder arrives at the 2018

    'Justice League': Gal Gadot, Ben Affleck, Zack Snyder Support Release of 'Snyder Cut'

    Zack Snyder, Gal Gadot, and Ben Affleck have taken to social media to request that Warner Bros. release the Snyder cut of “Justice League.” Snyder, who helmed “Man of Steel” and “Batman v Superman” and was “Justice League’s” original director, had to leave production on the film partway through after his daughter died, with Joss [...]

  • Whose Side Is 'Marriage Story' On?

    Whose Side Is 'Marriage Story' On? (Column)

    Do we choose sides when we watch “Marriage Story,” Noah Baumbach’s brilliant and wrenching drama of divorce? The question, on the face of it, sounds facile in a dozen ways the movie isn’t. Rarely are there winners in divorce, and there are two sides to every breakup. “Marriage Story” is a movie that reflects that [...]

  • The Letter

    IDFA: Kenyan Documentary ‘The Letter’ Debuts Trailer (EXCLUSIVE)

    Variety has been given access to the trailer for Kenyan documentary “The Letter,” by producer-director duo Christopher King and Maia Lekow, which world premieres Nov. 23 at IDFA. The film follows a young man who travels to his grandmother’s rural home when he learns she’s been accused of witchcraft. He soon discovers that the threatening letter she [...]

  • Warner Bros. Box Office

    With 'Good Liar' and 'Doctor Sleep,' Warner Bros.' Box Office Misfortunes Mount

    When Warner Bros. was crafting its 2019 slate, the studio took pains to offer more than just superhero movies. To be sure, there were lots of masked vigilantes too, but more than any of its big studio brethren, Warner Bros. was willing to take a risk on the kinds of thrillers, adult dramas, coming-of-age stories, [...]

  • Constance Wu

    Will Constance Wu Ever Watch 'Hustlers'?

    Despite her leading role, Constance Wu has never seen “Hustlers” and, spoiler alert, it’s very unlikely that she will. Wu explained why she doesn’t want to watch the film to Mindy Kaling (“Late Night”) during a conversation for “Variety Studio: Actors on Actors.” “This is crazy,” Kaling said in the beginning of the interview. “I [...]

  • Ford v Ferrari

    'Ford v Ferrari' Outmatches 'Charlie's Angels' at International Box Office

    Disney and 20th Century Fox’s “Ford v Ferrari” sped ahead of fellow new release, Sony’s “Charlie’s Angels,” at the international box office. Director James Mangold’s racing drama collected $21.4 million from 41 foreign markets, representing 67% of its overseas rollout. “Ford v Ferrari” also kicked off with $31 million in North America, bringing its global [...]

More From Our Brands

Access exclusive content