KARLOVY VARY, Czech Republic — The Official Selection for the Lux Prize, which is voted for by elected politicians sitting in the European Parliament, has been revealed at an event at the Karlovy Vary Film Festival.

The award is designed to put a spotlight on “the diversity of European cinema,” and its “importance in building social and cultural values.”

Ten films have been selected to compete. The list was revealed by European Parliament Committee on Legal Affairs chair Pavel Svoboda, European Parliament Committee on Culture and Education member Bogdan Wenta, Lux Prize coordinator Doris Pack, and Karlovy Vary artistic director and Lux Prize Selection panel member Karel Och.

The list includes five first features, the first Icelandic film, “Rams,” and the first documentary, “Toto and His Sisters,” to take part in the Official Selection, as well as two films directed by female filmmakers. Out of these 10 films, three will be selected as finalists, and announced at the Venice Days press conference in Rome at the end of July.

These films will then vie for the Lux Prize. They will also participate in the Lux Film Days, an initiative that will enable the films to be released outside of their national markets. The films will be subtitled into the 24 official languages of the European Union, and screened in the 28 member countries.

The winner will be unveiled at the end of the year in Strasbourg, and will also be made available for the visually and hearing-impaired.

Official Selection:
“45 Years” by Andrew Haigh (U.K.)
“A Perfect Day” by Fernando Leon de Aranoa (Spain)
“Rams” by Grimur Hakonarson (Iceland, Denmark)
“The Measure of a Man” by Stephane Brize (France)
“Mediterranea,” by Jonas Carpignano (Italy, U.S., Germany, France, Qatar)
“Mustang” by Deniz Gamze Erguven (France, Germany, Turkey, Qatar)
“Son of Saul” by Laszlo Nemes (Hungary)
“Toto and His Sisters” by Alexander Nanau (Romania, Hungary, Germany)
“The Lesson” by Kristina Grozeva and Petar Valchanov (Bulgaria, Greece)
“The High Sun” by Dalibor Matanic (Croatia, Slovenia, Serbia)