You will be redirected back to your article in seconds

Berlin: Luke Evans Stars in Basil Iwanyk-Produced ‘Three Seconds,’ Sold by Bloom

Luke Evans (“The Hobbit”) will star in “Three Seconds,” a maximum-security prison thriller from producer Basil Iwanyk (“John Wick”), directed by Otto Bathurst, and sold by Alex Walton’s Bloom.

Bloom has already announced sales rights at Berlin on “Jadotville,” a true event Congo-set battle actioner with Jamie Dornan (“Fifty Shades of Grey”) and France’s Guillame Canet (“Last Night”). At a 2015 Berlin market with just a small number of high-profile new action/thriller movies available, “Three Seconds” and “Jadotville” are already being talked up by buyers as very attractive.

On “Three Seconds,” Iwanyk’s Thunder Road and Ollie Madden of Shine Pictures are producing with Kevin Frakes and Raj Singh of PalmStar Media providing financing. Erica Lee is executive producing.

Principal photography is set to begin this spring in New York.

Written by Matt Cook, “Three Seconds” is an adaptation of a best-selling novel by Scandinavian writing duo Anders Roslund and Borge Hellstrom, hailed as new Swedish crime masters.

It turns on a man who is dispatched by the FBI to infiltrate the Polish mafia’s New York drug trade. Forced undercover in maximum security prison when his cover’s sprung and he’s abandoned by the FBI, his only chance of survival is to break out of the prison or die.

Popular on Variety

“We are looking forward to presenting this fun and fast paced script to buyers in Berlin,” said Walton. “It’s a great package: An immensely commercial project with a talented and seasoned team between Otto, Basil and Kevin.”

Gone are the days when straight-arrow generic fare racked up reliable sales in international. “Audiences are looking for something different,” Walton said in the run-up to this year’s EFM.

That edge on “Three Seconds” should come from Brit director Bathurst, renowned in Britain for his critically acclaimed Netflix/Tiger Aspect series “Peaky Blinders,” a Bafta Television Craft Award winner, the “Black Mirror” series and the BBC original miniseries “Criminal Justice,” which took a 2009 Bafta drama Serial TV Award.

Bathurst and Evans are both represented by WME.

More Film

  • Chosen Ones Artwork

    The Yellow Affair Picks Up Swedish YA Sci-Fi/Thriller ‘Chosen Ones’ (EXCLUSIVE)

    GÖTEBORG, Sweden — Scandi sales shingle The Yellow Affair has added to its Göteborg lineup the Swedish series “The Chosen Ones” (“Det Utvalda”), currently playing on Swedish pubcaster SVT’s streaming service SVT Play. The short form sci-fi thriller stars a strong Swedish female cast of model-turned actress Frida Gustavsson (“Swoon”), singer/actress Amy Deasismont (“Gösta”, “My [...]

  • A still from LANCE by Marina

    'Lance': Film Review

    Late in the film “Lance,” a documentary that depicts the ascent and the crash of disgraced cyclist Lance Armstrong, the subject recalls the disappearance of his lucrative sponsorships. These deals — with a massive market value and a perhaps more important intangible value of keeping him in the public eye as a figure of rectitude [...]

  • Palm Springs

    'Palm Springs' Breaks Sundance Record for Biggest Sale Ever -- By 69 Cents

    Andy Samberg’s “Palm Springs” has just broken the record for the biggest sale in the history of the Sundance film festival — by $0.69. A joint announcement on Monday from Hulu and indie distributor Neon confirmed the existential comedy was purchased for $17,500,000.69, in a sale brokered by UTA Independent Film Group. That figure exceeds [...]

  • The Truffle Hunters

    Sundance: Sony Pictures Classics Buys 'The Truffle Hunters'

    Sony Pictures Classics has acquired worldwide rights to “The Truffle Hunters” out of the Sundance Film Festival. The pact is for $1.5 million, according to an insider. The documentary follows a handful of men in Piedmont, Italy as the search for rare and expensive white Alba truffles. It’s a lifestyle that is off-the-grid, one without [...]

  • Saweetie62nd Annual Grammy Awards, Arrivals, Los

    When 'Birds of Prey' Came Calling, 'I Passed Out,' Says Saweetie

    “Birds of Prey (and the Fantabulous Emancipation of One Harley Quinn),” the R-rated girl gang-driven comic book actioner starring Margot Robbie and directed by Cathy Yan, bows in theaters Feb. 7 — the same date its equally female-driven soundtrack drops. And the latter even has its own trailer.  The film’s playlist includes tracks by Megan [...]

  • The Evening Hour

    'The Evening Hour': Film Review

    A small town already down on its luck receives a few fresh kicks in “The Evening Hour.” Based on Carter Sickels’ 2012 novel, this second narrative feature from director Braden King is more plot-driven than his first, 2011’s “Here,” a leisurely and slight, if pleasant, road-trip romance. Indeed, there may be a little more content [...]

  • Ntare Guma Mbaho Mwine, Zainab Jah,

    'Farewell Amor': Film Review

    There are small, telling differences in the way each of the three long-separated main characters in “Farewell Amor” remembers the day of their reunion. Standing at JFK, awkwardly clutching a bunch of flowers to give to the wife and child he has not seen in 17 years, Walter (Ntare Guma Mbaho Mwine from “The Chi”), [...]

More From Our Brands

Access exclusive content