Berlin Film Festival Completes Competition Lineup

Berlinale selection includes Wim Wenders' 'Every Thing Will Be Fine,' which stars James Franco and Charlotte Gainsbourg

Berlin Film Festival Completes Competition Lineup

LONDON — Berlin Film Festival chief Dieter Kosslick has completed his Competition section lineup, with films by Wim Wenders, Pablo Larrain and Oliver Hirschbiegel among the latest additions.

Wenders’ 3D film “Every Thing Will Be Fine” stars James Franco, Charlotte Gainsbourg and Rachel McAdams. Franco plays Tomas, a writer who accidentally causes the death of a child and spends the next 12 years examining the effect of the tragedy on his life and that of Kate, the child’s mother.

As previously announced, the festival is to present Wenders with an honorary Golden Bear for lifetime achievement, and will screen 10 of his movies as part of an homage. Wenders directed seminal pics like “Paris, Texas” and “Wings of Desire,” and has been nominated three times for an Oscar, most recently for “The Salt of the Earth.”

Larrain’s “The Club,” which was shot off the radar, turns on four disgraced priests, who live together purging their sins; another disgraced companion arrives, shattering their tranquility.

Chile’s Larrain is one of Latin America’s foremost directors. His last film, Gael Garcia Bernal starrer “No,” won Cannes Directors’ Fortnight and was Oscar nominated. Sony Pictures Classics picked up U.S. rights.

Hirschbiegel’s “13 Minutes,” which is about a resistance fighter who tried to assassinate Hitler, stars Christian Friedel (“The White Ribbon”), Katharina Schuettler (“Generation War”) and Burghart Klaussner (“The White Ribbon”). Hirschbiegel was Oscar nominated for “Downfall.”

The following films complete the Competition program:

Romania/Bulgaria/Czech Republic
By Radu Jude (“Everybody in Our Family”)
With Teodor Corban, Mihai Comanoiu, Cuzin Toma, Alexandru Dabija
World premiere

“El boton de nacar” (The Pearl Button) – documentary
By Patricio Guzman (“Nostalgia for the Light”)
World premiere

“El Club” (The Club)
By Pablo Larrain (“Tony Manero,” “No”)
With Roberto Farias, Antonia Zegers, Alfredo Castro, Alejandro Goic, Alejandro Sieveking, Jaime Vadell, Marcelo Alonso
World premiere

“Elser” (13 Minutes)
By Oliver Hirschbiegel (“Downfall”)
With Christian Friedel, Katharina Schüttler, Burghart Klaußner, Johann von Bülow, Felix Eitner
World premiere – Out of competition

“Every Thing Will Be Fine”
By Wim Wenders (“Pina,” “Wings of Desire”)
With James Franco, Charlotte Gainsbourg, Rachel McAdams, Marie-Josée Croze
World premiere – Out of competition

“Ten no chasuke” (Chasuke’s Journey)
By Sabu (“Kanikosen,” “Dead Run”)
With Ken’ichi Matsuyama, Ito Ohno, Ren Ohsugi, Yusuke Iseya, Hiromasa Taguchi, Tina Tamashiro, Susumu Terajima
World premiere

“Vergine giurata” (Sworn Virgin)
By Laura Bispuri – Feature debut
With Alba Rohrwacher, Lars Eidinger, Flonja Kodheli, Luan Jaha, Emily Ferratello
World premiere

As announced previously, the program also includes:

“45 Years” by Andrew Haigh

“Als wir träumten” (As We Were Dreaming) by Andreas Dresen

“Body” by Malgorzata Szumowska

“Cha va con va” (Big Father, Small Father and Other Stories) by Phan Dang Di

“Cinderella” by Kenneth Branagh
U.S. – Out of competition

“Eisenstein in Guanajuato” by Peter Greenaway

“Ixcanul” (Ixcanul Volcano) by Jayro Bustamante
Guatemala/France – Feature debut

“Journal d’une femme de chambre” (Diary of a Chambermaid)
by Benoit Jacquot

“Knight of Cups” by Terrence Malick

“Mr. Holmes” by Bill Condon
U.K. – Out of competition

“Nobody Wants the Night” by Isabel Coixet – Opening film

“Pod electricheskimi oblakami” (Under Electric Clouds)
by Alexey German

“Queen of the Desert” by Werner Herzog

“Taxi” by Jafar Panahi

“Victoria” by Sebastian Schipper

“Yi bu zhi yao” (Gone with the Bullets) by Jiang Wen