Damian Szifron’s “Wild Tales,” which was nominated for a foreign language film Oscar in the 2014 Academy Awards race, snagged 10 nominations for the second annual Premios Platino of Iberoamerican Cinema, followed by Ernesto Daranas’ teacher-pupil Cuban drama “Conducta” and Spain’s crime thriller “La Isla Minima” by Alberto Rodriguez, which grabbed nine each.

All three pics are nominated for best Iberoamerican feature along with Alvaro Brechner’s “Mr. Kaplan” (Uruguay) and Venezuelan Mariana Rondon’s “Pelo Malo.” The helmers of all five pics are also nominated for director prizes.

A record-busting 760 pics qualified for this year’s awards, evidence of robust film production activity across Spain, Portugal and especially Latin America. From the initial list, 30 pics made the final cut, selected from 13 of the 23 countries of Iberoamerica.

The ceremony will be held in the coastal town of Marbella, Spain, on Oct. 18.

At the press event Wednesday, thesp Kate del Castillo announced that Malaga native Antonio Banderas, who next appears in mining drama “The 33” by Patricia Riggen, will be honored with the lifetime achievement award.

Mexican actor-helmer Eugenio Derbez (“No Instructions Included”), on behalf of the executive committee of Premios Platino, gave a special Platino Award to the American Cinematheque for its contribution to Iberoamerican Cinema, which its chairman Rick Nicita accepted.

Raul Vazquez, director of intellectual property rights group EGEDA Latin America, added that free-to-air broadcast rights with a string of networks will complement the live broadcast on TNT Latin America. Spanish pubcaster RTVE will produce the show as well as air it in Spain. Hosted by Alessandra Rosaldo and Juan Carlos Arciniegas, the ceremony will take place at the Starlite Marbella, and be broadcast across 50 countries worldwide.

The three-year strategic alliance between TNT and EGEDA indicates the growing prestige of the itinerant awards show, which launched in Panama in 2014. Mexico, while unconfirmed, is a likely host for 2016.

Complete List of Nominees:

Best Iberoamerican Feature Film

Director: Ernesto Daranas (Cuba )

“La Isla Minima”
Director: Alberto Rodriguez (Spain)

“Mr. Kaplan”
Director: Alvaro Brechner (Germany, Spain, Uruguay)

“Pelo Malo”
Director: Mariana Rondon (Venezuela, Peru, Germany, Argentina)

“Wild Tales”
Director: Damian Szifron (Argentina, Spain)

Best Director

Alberto Rodriguez (Spain) for “La Isla Minima”

Alvaro Brechner (Uruguay) for “Mr. Kaplan”

Damian Szifron (Argentina) for “Wild Tales”

Ernesto Daranas (Cuba) for “Conducta”

Mariana Rondon (Venezuela) for “Pelo Malo”

Best Performance by an Actor

Benicio del Toro (Puerto Rico) for “Escobar: Paraiso Lost”

Javier Gutierrez (Spain) for “La Isla Minima”

Jorge Perugorria (Cuba) for “La Pared de las Palabras”

Leonardo Sbaraglia (Argentina) for “Wild Tales”

Oscar Jaenada (Spain) for “Cantinflas”

Best Performance by an Actress

Erica Rivas (Argentina) for “Wild Tales”

Geraldine Chaplin (US) for “Dolares de Arena”

Laura de la Uz (Cuba) for “Vestido de Novia”

Leandra Leal (Brazil) for “O Lobo Atras Da Porta”

Paulina Garcia (Chile) for “Las Analfabetas”

Samantha Castillo (Venezuela) for “Pelo Malo”

Best Original Score


Adan Jodorowsky (Chile) for “La Danza de la Realidad”

Gustavo Dudamel (Venezuela) for “Libertador”

Gustavo Santaolalla (Argentina) for Wild Tales”

Juan A. Leyva (Cuba), Magda R. Galban (Cuba) for “Conducta”

Julio de la Rosa (Spain) for “La Isla Minima”

Roque Banos (Spain) for “El Nino”


Best Animated Feature Film


“Ate que a Sbornia Nos Separe”
Directors: Otto Guerra, Ennio Torresan Jr. (Brazil)

“Dixie y la Rebelion Zombi”
Directors: Benat Beitia, Ricardo Ramon (Spain)

“La Leyenda de las Momias de Guanajato”
Director: Alberto Rodriguez Mexico

Director: Ernesto Padron (Cuba, Spain)

“Mortadelo y Filemon contra Jimmy el Cachondo”
Director: Javier Fesser (Spain)

“O Menino e o Mundo”
Director: Ale Abreu (Brazil)


Best Documentary


“¿Quien es Dayani Cristal?”
Director: Marc Silver (Mexico, United Kingdom)

“2014, Nacido en Gaza”
Director: Hernan Zin (Spain)

“El Vals de los Inutiles”
Director: Edison Cajas (Argentina, Chile)

“O Sal da Terra”
Directors: Wim Wenders, Juliano Ribeiro Salgado (Brazil, France, Italy)

“Paco de Lucia: La Busqueda”
Director: Francisco Sanchez Varela (Spain)


Best Screenplay


Alberto Rodriguez (Spain), Rafael Cobos (Spain) for “La Isla Minima”

Alvaro Brechner (Uruguay) for “Mr. Kaplan”

Damian Szifron (Argentina) for “Wild Tales”

Ernesto Daranas (Cuba) for “Conducta”

Mariana Rondon (Venezuela) for “Pelo Malo”


Best Iberoamerican Feature Film Debut

“10,000 KM”
Director: Carlos Marques-Marcet (Spain)

“Ciencias Naturales”
Director: Matias Lucchesi (Argentina, France)

“La Distancia mas Larga”
Director: Claudia Pinto (Spain, Venezuela)

Director: Maria Gamboa (Colombia, France)

“Vestido de Novia”
Director: Marilyn Solaya (Cuba)


Best Cinematography

Alberto Alejandro Perez for “Conducta”

Alex Catalan for for “La Isla Minima”

Alvaro Gutierrez for “Mr. Kaplan”

Micaela Cajahuaringa for “Pelo Malo”

Javier Julia for “Wild Tales”


Best Sound Direction


Juan Carlo Herrera, Osmany Olivares for “Conducta”

Daniel de Zayas, Pelayo Gutierrez, Nacho Royo-Villanova for “La Isla Minima”
Fabian Oliver, Nacho Royo-Villanova for “Mr. Kaplan”
Lena Esquenazi, John Figueroa for “Pelo Malo”

Jose Luis Diaz for “Wild Tales”


Best Editing


Pedro Suarez for “Conducta”
Jose M.G. Moyano for “La Isla Minima”

Nacho Ruiz Capillas for “Mr. Kaplan”

Marite Ugas for “Pelo Malo”

Damian Szifron, Pablo Barbieri for “Wild Tales”


Best Art Direction


Erick Grass for “Conducta”

Pepe Dominguez for “La Isla Minima”

Gustavo Ramirez for “Mr. Kaplan

Matias Tikas for “Pelo Malo”

Clara Notari for “Wild Tales”