‘Spotlight’ Trio to Receive Santa Barbara Film Festival’s American Riviera Award

Michael Keaton, Rachel McAdams and Mark Ruffalo will be honored at the 31st annual event.

The Santa Barbara International Film Festival announced Thursday that “Spotlight” stars Michael Keaton, Mark Ruffalo and Rachel McAdams will receive the American Riviera Award at the 31st annual event in February.

This is the first time the honor, given to “actors who have made a significant contribution to American Cinema,” will be given to three individuals. Each will be feted with a tribute celebrating their careers.

“Michael, Mark and Rachel are three of the finest actors in the business,” said Festival Director Roger Durling. “They are artists in the truest sense of the word who continue to surprise and inspire audiences with their talent. Their recent turn in ‘Spotlight’ demonstrates their skills both harmoniously as an ensemble and individually.”

To which one can only say: Poor Brian d’Arcy James. (Or poor Liev Schrieber, but then where do you stop, I guess.) It’s fair enough for the fest to make a move toward recognizing this ensemble in some capacity, though. The Gotham Independent Film Awards nominating panel carved out a special jury prize for the cast at the upcoming New York ceremony, and the whole crew seems like a serious threat to take the SAG ensemble award in January.

The 31st Santa Barbara International Film Festival runs Feb. 3 – 13, 2016.

Popular on Variety

More Film

  • The Speech

    Charades Rolls Into EFM with Pre-Sales on 'The Rosemaker,' 'The Speech' (EXCLUSIVE)

    Charades, the sales firm launched three years ago by former execs at Wild Bunch, Gaumont and Studiocanal, will roll into the Berlinale’s European Film Market with a raft of pre-sales on anticipated French projects, including “The Rosemaker” with Catherine Frot and Laurent Tirard’s “The Speech.” Charades will unveil the promos of both films, as well [...]

  • Dexter Fletcher73rd British Academy Film Awards,

    'Rocketman' Filmmaker Dexter Fletcher to Direct 'The Saint' Reboot (EXCLUSIVE)

    After the success of its Elton John biopic “Rocketman,” Paramount has set filmmaker Dexter Fletcher to direct another high-profile project for the studio. Fletcher will helm “The Saint,” a reboot of its 1997 action thriller that starred Val Kilmer. The globe-trotting adventure is based on the 1920s novel series written by Leslie Charteris. Seth Grahame-Smith [...]

  • Harvey Weinstein

    Jury Deliberations Begin in Harvey Weinstein Rape Trial

    Jury deliberations in the rape trial of Harvey Weinstein began Tuesday. After a six-week trial, a 12-member panel of New Yorkers will now decide if the former movie mogul goes free or spends the rest of his life behind bars. The case is considered to be a landmark moment for the #MeToo movement in Hollywood, [...]

  • Rory KennedyDiscovery 'Above and Beyond: NASA'S

    Boeing 737 Max Disaster Series in Works From Rory Kennedy, Imagine Documentaries (EXCLUSIVE)

    Documentary filmmaker Rory Kennedy is teaming with Imagine Entertainment for a new series about the tragedy and subsequent scandal over the defunct Boeing 737-Max airplane, sources tell Variety. Kennedy and her husband and producing partner, Emmy-nominated writer Mark Bailey, are teaming up with Brian Grazer and Ron Howard’s unscripted division at Imagine, run by Justin [...]

  • Otto Rehhagel, second from left, the

    Piece of Magic Takes Rights to Soccer Documentary 'King Otto'

    Piece of Magic Entertainment, the distributor behind recent docs “Apollo 11” and “Marianne and Leonard: Words of Love,” has picked up international theatrical distribution rights for the underdog sports tale “King Otto.” The doc follows the improbable path of the 2004 Greek National Soccer team, which went from never winning a single tournament match to [...]

More From Our Brands

Access exclusive content