You will be redirected back to your article in seconds

The second annual Premios Platino of Iberoamerican Cinema will broadcast live on TNT Latin America this year, thanks to a deal between Spanish intellectual property rights group EGEDA and TNT Latin America.

The three-year strategic alliance indicates the growing prestige of the itinerant awards show, which launched in Panama in 2014 and will take place this year in Marbella, Spain, on July 18.

“In less than a year, these awards, in collaboration with FIPCA [Iberoamerican Federation of Film and Audiovisual Producers], have been established as the reference point of quality and success of our cinema,” said Miguel Angel Benzal, CEO of EGEDA and the Premios Platino of Iberoamerican Cinema.

One of the leading cable channels in Latin America, TNT reaches 54.5 million subs and has become the go-to channel for live entertainment shows, including the Oscars, the Golden Globes and the Grammys. It has also launched the TNT Go App for live streaming or on demand access. The Platino awards ceremony will air live in 50 countries and will also be available on TNT Go in Argentina, Colombia and Venezuela. Spanish pubcaster RTVE will broadcast the ceremony in Spain.

An exclusive 30-minute pre-show from the red carpet will air on both TNT and CNN en Espanol, hosted by Argentine producer Axel Kuschevatzky (“Wild Tales,” “Secret in Their Eyes”) and Dominican host of CNN en Espanol Mariela Encarnacion.

Hosted by Mexican actress and singer Alessandra Rosaldo and CNN en Espanol’s Juan Carlos Arciniegas this year, the Premios Platino identifies the best film productions from Latin America, Spain and Portugal in nine creative and four technical categories.

On May 27, Rosaldo and Arciniegas will join actor-director Eugenio Derbez, EGEDA U.S. director Elvi Cano and FIPCA Mexico’s Gonzalo Elvira in Los Angeles to announce the nominees for the awards.

Mexican thesp Kate Del Castillo will also announce the recipient of the Premio de Honor (lifetime achievement award), and Rick Nicita, chairman of the American Cinematheque, will accept a special Platino Award to the American Cinematheque for its contribution to Iberoamerican Cinema.