LONDON — Alex Garland’s sci-fi movie “Ex Machina” was the big winner at the British Independent Film Awards, taking four prizes. The movie won best film, Garland took the prizes for director and screenplay, and the craft award was picked up by Andrew Whitehurst for the film’s visual effects. The ceremony, which was hosted by Richard Ayoade, took place at London’s Old Billingsgate Market Sunday.

Tom Hardy won best actor for his dual role as Ronnie and Reggie Kray in “Legend,” and Saoirse Ronan picked up the best actress prize for “Brooklyn.” Ronan said: “I was very, very lucky. I was given the opportunity to honor a journey and a story that is very close to my heart.”

Brendan Gleeson nabbed the supporting actor award for “Suffragette,” while Olivia Colman took the supporting actress prize for “The Lobster.”

The Variety Award, which recognises a director, actor, writer or producer who has made a global impact and helped to focus the international spotlight on the U.K., was presented to Kate Winslet by Stanley Tucci, who appeared with the actress in “A Little Chaos.”

Tucci said: “She is a performer who has been on the frontline of British acting talent for just over 20 years and proved to be as comfortable with Shakespeare and Austen as she is with sci-fi and comedy.” He added: “She is an exceptional talent and a generous spirit who deserves everything she has achieved so far.”

Winslet said in her speech: “I absolutely love acting. I love it more and more, and I can honestly say that I am at my absolute happiest working on tight collaborations, with tiny budgets, and small crews, and never enough shooting time, which of course is familiar to absolutely everyone in this room, but these things are so specific to independent film, which has been my best friend for 23 years, and continues to enrich my life beyond measure.”

She added: “It is wonderful to be allowed to celebrate our industry with an event like this one. And in spite of some ‘Titanic’ moments, independent film is where I have learned the most and laughed the most, so I am very grateful to be included in such a special night.”

The award for international independent film was taken by “Room.” Jacob Tremblay, the young star of the film, collected the award with the producers. The Raindance Discovery Award went to “Orion: The Man Who Would Be King.”

The documentary honor went to “Dark Horse: The Incredible True Story of Dream Alliance,” and the producers of the year were Paul Katis and Andrew De Lotbiniere for “Kajaki: The True Story.” Stephen Fingleton was named best debut director for “The Survivalist.”

Abigail Hardingham was named Most Promising Newcomer for her performance in “Nina Forever,” while “Edmond” took the short film award.

Among those attending were Winslet, Ronan, Marion Cotillard, Alicia Vikander, Charlotte Rampling, Agyness Deyn, Colin Farrell, Helena Bonham Carter, Luke Evans, Julie Walters and Carey Mulligan.

Full list of winner and nominees below:

Best British Independent Film
“Ex Machina” — WINNER
“45 Years”
“The Lobster”

Best Director
Asif Kapadia, “Amy”
Alex Garland, “Ex Machina” — WINNER
Andrew Haigh, “45 Years”
Yorgos Lanthimos, “The Lobster”
Justin Kurzel, “Macbeth”

Best Actor
Tom Courtenay, “45 Years”
Colin Farrell, “The Lobster”
Michael Fassbender, “Macbeth”
Tom Hardy, “Legend” — WINNER
Tom Hiddleston, “High-Rise”

Best Actress
Marion Cotillard, “Macbeth”
Carey Mulligan, “Suffragette”
Charlotte Rampling, “45 Years”
Saoirse Ronan, “Brooklyn” — WINNER
Alicia Vikander, “The Danish Girl”

Best Supporting Actor
Luke Evans, “High-Rise”
Brendan Gleeson, “Suffragette” — WINNER
Domhnall Gleeson, “Brooklyn”
Sean Harris, “Macbeth”
Ben Whishaw, “The Lobster”

Best Supporting Actress
Helena Bonham Carter, “Suffragette”
Olivia Colman, “The Lobster” — WINNER
Anne-Marie Duff, “Suffragette”
Sienna Miller, “High-Rise”
Julie Walters, “Brooklyn”

Best Screenplay
Nick Hornby, “Brooklyn”
Alex Garland, “Ex Machina” — WINNER
Andrew Haigh, “45 Years”
Amy Jump, “High-Rise”
Yorgos Lanthimos and Efthymis Filippou, “The Lobster”

Best Foreign Independent Film
“Force Majeure”
“Room” — WINNER
“Son of Saul”

Best Debut Director (Douglas Hickox Award)
Chris and Ben Blaine, “Nina Forever”
Corin Hardy, “The Hallow”
Paul Katis, “Kajaki: The True Story”
John Maclean, “Slow West”
Stephen Fingleton, “The Survivalist” — WINNER

Best Achievement in Craft
Chris King (editing), “Amy”
Fiona Weir (casting), “Brooklyn”
Mark Digby (production design), “Ex Machina”
Andrew Whitehurst (visual effects), “Ex Machina” — WINNER
Adam Arkapaw (cinematography), “Macbeth”

Best Documentary
“Dark Horse: The Incredible True Story of Dream Alliance” — WINNER
“How to Change the World”
“A Syrian Love Story”

Most Promising Newcomer
Agyness Dean, “Sunset Song”
Mia Goth, “The Survivalist”
Abigail Hardingham, “Nina Forever” — WINNER
Milo Parker, “Mr. Holmes”
Bel Powley, “A Royal Night Out”

Producer of the Year
James Gay-Rees, “Amy”
Tristan Goligher, “45 Years”
Paul Katis and Andrew De Lotbiniere, “Kajaki: The True Story” — WINNER
Ceci Dempsey, Ed Guiney, Yorgos Lanthimos and Lee Magiday, “The Lobster”
David A. Hughes and David Moores, “The Violators”

Raindance Discovery Award
“Burn Burn Burn”
“Orion: The Man Who Would Be King” — WINNER
“The Return”

Best Short Film
“Edmond” — WINNER
“Love is Blind”