You will be redirected back to your article in seconds

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts & Sciences now has 17 women on the board of governors, compared to 14 for the past year.

The org unveiled its new board members Friday morning. Elected to the board for the first time are Lois Burwell, makeup artists and hairstylists branch; Michael Giacchino, music branch; Rory Kennedy, documentary branch; and Daryn Okada, cinematographers branch.

Incumbent governors re-elected to the board include Jim Bissell, designers branch; Tom Hanks, actors branch; Kathleen Kennedy, producers branch; John Knoll, visual effects branch; Bill Kroyer, short films and feature animation branch; Michael Mann, directors branch; Scott Millan, sound branch; Deborah Nadoolman Landis, costume designers branch; and Bernard Telsey, casting directors branch.

Returning to the board after a hiatus are governors Jim Gianopulos, executives branch; Marvin Levy, public relations branch; and Carol Littleton, film editors branch.

There are 51 members on the board, with three reps from each of the Academy’s 17 branches. They all have a three-year term, but the Oscar org rotates the voting, meaning only one of the three reps is elected each year.

“I’m excited to welcome our four new governors to the Board and congratulate those who have been reelected,” said Academy president Cheryl Boone Isaacs.  “Our board is made up of some of the most experienced and respected professionals in our industry, and we look forward to working with them on our ongoing goals of increasing member engagement and expanding the Academy’s outreach to our global film community.”

The balloting in the Academy’s writers branch produced a tie between candidates Larry Karaszewski and Billy Ray, necessitating a second polling of that branch.  Voting for the runoff election via online and paper ballots will begin Thursday, July 16, and end Wednesday, July 22.  The Academy last held a runoff election in 2009 for the directors branch.

The Academy’s 17 branches are each represented by three governors, who may serve up to three consecutive three-year terms. The board of governors directs the Academy’s strategic vision, preserves the organization’s financial health, and assures the fulfillment of its mission.