Kim Dong-ho, co-founder and former chairman of the Busan Film Festival, will head the jury that decides the prizes for this year’s Asia Pacific Screen Awards.

He will be joined on the jury by director Mostofa Sarwar Farooki (“Television”), Chinese academic Zhang Xianmin, Malaysian filmmaker U-Wei Bin Hajisaari, Russian writer-director Alexei Popogrebsky and Iranian actress Negar Javaherian.

Kim and Farooki were in attendance Sunday at a ceremony in Busan to announce the APSA jurors and nominations for the APSA UNESCO Award, which is presented annually for outstanding contribution to the promotion and preservation of the cultural diversity.

Nominees are China’s Zhang Miaoyan for “A Corner of Heaven” (Tiantang Jiaoluo); Russia’s Ella Manzheeva for “The Gulls”; Turkey’s Senem Tuzen for “Motherland”; Palestine’s Hany Abu-Assad for “The Idol”; and Australia’s Stephen Page for “Spear.”

“The APSA UNESCO Award is a very important and unique accolade,” said Kim. “The Asia Pacific is rich with cultural diversity and I am proud to contribute to APSA’s celebration of cultural heritage through cinema.”

Last week APSA unveiled nominations for the youth, animation and documentary categories.

In the running for the youth award are: “Mina Walking” (Afghanistan, Canada), “Set Me Free” (Korea), “A Corner of Heaven” (China, France), “Mustang” (Turkey, Qatar, France, Germany), and “River” (China).

Competing for the best documentary feature prize are: “The Look of Silence” (Indonesia, U.K., Denmark, Finland, Norway); “The Chinese Mayor” (China), “Among the Believers” (Pakistan, U.S.); “Another Country” (Australia); and “A Flag Without a Country” (Iraq) written and directed by Bahman Ghobadi. “Flag” has its world premiere this week in Busan.

The animated feature race includes Studio Ghibli’s “When Marnie Was There”; Keiichi Hara’s “Miss Hokusai”; Russia’s “Snow Queen 2: The Snow King”; Australia’s “Blinky Bill”; and Korea’s “The Road Called Life.”

Nominations for the best feature film, directing, cinematography, screenplay and actress and actor categories will be announced on Oct. 21.

The 9th Asia Pacific Screen Awards ceremony will be held in Brisbane, Australia on Thursday Nov. 26.