The top film prize at the Australian Academy of Cinema and Television Arts was shared by “The Water Diviner” and “The Babadook.”

Both films were by first time feature directors, Russell Crowe and Jennifer Kent, respectively.

Kent also claimed the AACTA award for best direction.

David Gulpilil’s performance in “Charlie’s Country” saw him awarded Best Lead Actor. “Predestination” star Sarah Snook was awarded Best Lead Actress. Susan Prior’s performance in “The Rover” earned her Best Supporting Actress prize and Yilmaz Erdogan was awarded Best Supporting Actor for his role in “the Water Diviner.”

“The Railway Man was awarded for Best Adapted Screenplay, while “The Lego Movie,” shunned at the Oscars, took home the AACTA Award for Best Visual Effects or Animation.

The AACTA Award for Best Feature Length Documentary went to “Ukraine Is Not a Brothel.”

Further individual prizes went to: Rose Byrne, who collected the Trailblazer Award following her recent role in the U.S. TV series “Damages”; producer-director Amiel Courtin-Wilson who collectes the Byron-Kennedy Award for outstanding enterprise; and to screenwriter Andrew Knight (“The Water Diviner,” “Siam Sunset”) who picked up the AACTA Longford Lyell Award.