The Motion Picture Sound Editors have elected Sony Pictures executive Tom McCarthy as president, succeeding Frank Morrone.

McCarthy, who won an Academy Award for sound effects editing on “Bram Stoker’s Dracula,” currently serves as Sony’s exec VP of post production facilities. He’s not related to the director of the same name.

Supervising sound editor Glenn T. Morgan was elected secretary to succeed Chris Reeves. McCarthy and Morgan join continuing officers Mark Lanza, vice president; Paul Rodriguez, treasurer; and Jeremy J. Gordon, sergeant at arms.

McCarthy said he will encourage more members to become involved in MPSE activities, including running for board positions. “I will also work to increase recognition for the art of entertainment sound, and the contributions sound editors make to motion pictures, television, games and other media,” he added.

MPSE also elected Steve Urban, Steve Avila, Mike Draghi, Solange Schwalbe, Bernard Weiser and Mandell Winter to its film board. Meanwhile, Mark Jasper, William Dannevik and Chris Reeves were elected to the television board. Charles Deenen was elected to the game cinematics board.

Avila, Draghi, Schwalbe, Weiser, Winter, Dannevik, Reeves and Deenen were incumbents.