You will be redirected back to your article in seconds

Publicists Nominate ‘The Interview’ for Top Movie Campaign

Sony’s promotional campaign for its satire “The Interview” has been nominated as one of last year’s top campaigns by Hollywood publicists with the International Cinematographers Guild.

The guild, which operates as Local 600 of the Intl. Alliance of the Theatrical Stage Employees, included “The Interview” as one of six nominees for its Maxwell Weinberg Publicists Showmanship Motion Picture Award.

The other nominees are 20th Century Fox for “The Fault in Our Stars”; Marvel/Walt Disney Studios for “Guardians of the Galaxy”; Warner Bros. Pictures for “The Lego Movie”; Paramount Pictures, Pathe and Harpo Films for “Selma”; and Universal Pictures for “Unbroken.”

The winner will be announced at the guild’s awards show on Feb. 20 at the Beverly Hilton.

James Franco portrays a celebrity talkshow host and Rogen is his producer in “The Interview,” in which the duo snag an exclusive in-person interview with North Korean leader Kim Jong-un and are recruited by a CIA agent (Lizzy Caplan) to assassinate the dictator.

The studio was hit by hackers on Nov. 24 and theater owners were threatened with terrorism on Dec. 16 if they showed the film. On Dec. 17, Sony pulled the film’s theatrical release in the face of a refusal by major chains to show the film, then reversed course six days later, launching the film on VOD on Christmas Eve and opening on Christmas Day at 330 independent theaters.

Sony announced Jan. 6 that the film had grossed $31 million from online and video-on-demand revenues through its first week and a half in release. The comedy has also generated $6 million in limited theatrical release.

The Maxwell Weinberg Publicists Showmanship Television Award nominees are Warner Bros. Television for “Gotham,” CBS Television Studios for “Jane the Virgin” and for “Madam Secretary,” Netflix for “Orange Is the New Black” and Bonanza Productions, in association with Berlanti Productions and Warner Bros. Television, for “The Flash.”

The Press Award nominees are Grae Drake, RottenTomatoes.com; Mike Fleming Jr., Deadline.com; Jeff Jensen, Entertainment Weekly; Dave Karger, Fandango.com; and Anne Thompson, IndieWire.com.

Nominees for the Les Mason Award to honor publicists are Melissa Kates, ViewPoint LA; Elaine La Zelle, The Walt Disney Studios; Sheryl Main, Unit Publicist; Maureen O’Malley, Warner Bros. Pictures International; and Murray Weissman, Weissman/Markovitz Communications.

The nominees for the International Media Award are Vera Anderson, Mexico; Rocio Ayuso, Spain; Theo Kingma, the Netherlands; Elisabeth Sereda, Austria; and Adam Tanswell, United Kingdom.

The nominees for Excellence in Unit Still Photography for Motion Pictures are Merrick Morton, Dale Robinette, Merie Wallace, Wilson Webb and Barry Wetcher. Excellence in Unit Still Photography for Television nominees are Beth Dubber, Ursula Coyote, Chuck Hodes, John Johnson and Adam Rose.

Popular on Variety

More Film

  • Aaron Janus Lionsgate

    Lionsgate Hires 'A Quiet Place' Producer Aaron Janus as Senior VP of Production

    Lionsgate has hired Aaron Janus as its new senior vice president of production and promoted Meredith Wieck to the post of vice president of production.  Prior to Lionsgate, Janus served as Platinum Dunes’ head of development, where he oversaw filmmakers Brad Fuller, Andrew Form and Michael Bane. There, he brought in “A Quiet Place,” on [...]

  • Ang Lee Reveals First Look at

    Ang Lee on 'Gemini Man' and De-Aging Will Smith

    On paper, Ang Lee’s “Gemini Man” is a standard-issue, shoot ’em up with Will Smith playing a deadly assassin who must battle a younger clone of himself. The explosions and gun battles aren’t what drew Lee to the project, even if they’re the reason that most people will show up at theaters when it opens [...]

  • Hopper Reserve

    Dennis Hopper's Dying Wish: His Own Strain of Marijuana

    Even as celebrity brands are starting to flood the emerging Cannabis market, Hopper Reserve stands out. The brand was launched by Marin Hopper, Dennis Hopper’s daughter from his marriage to Brooke Hayward. Hopper Reserve is a gram of California indoor-grown flower, two packs of rolling papers, a pair of matches and a trading card either [...]

  • Sean Clarke Aardman Staff Photography Bristol.Pic

    Aardman Appoints Sean Clarke as New Managing Director

    Aardman, the Oscar-winning animation studio behind “Chicken Run” and “Early Man,” has appointed Sean Clarke as its new managing director, replacing co-founder David Sproxton, who is stepping down after 43 years. Clarke has worked at the British studio for more than 20 years, including heading the international rights and marketing department for over a decade. [...]

  • The Antenna

    Toronto Film Review: 'The Antenna'

    Jump scares, creepy noises and the tease of hidden-from-view dangers are all fine. But a truly frightening horror film unsettles with more than its crafts, but instead through the vulnerability of defenseless people stuck with bad options only. First-time writer-director Orçun Behram’s highly stylized and mildly disturbing “The Antenna,” a metaphor on Turkey’s current ruling [...]

  • Ad Astra Box Office

    Box Office Battle: 'Ad Astra' Takes on 'Rambo: Last Blood' and 'Downton Abbey'

    “Hustlers” and “Good Boys” proved that even in the age of Marvel dominance and remake mania, movies that don’t exist within an established franchise can still be box office draws. Can “Ad Astra” continue that trend? The space drama — starring Brad Pitt and directed by James Gray — arrives on the big screen this [...]

  • Harvey Weinstein Accuser Lucia Evans Breaks

    Harvey Weinstein Accuser Lucia Evans Breaks Silence After D.A. Dropped Charge

    Lucia Evans gave a wrenching account on Tuesday of her efforts to hold Harvey Weinstein responsible for sexual assault, saying she felt betrayed after the Manhattan D.A.’s office dropped her allegations last year. Evans spoke to Variety after giving a speech at a conference on influencer fraud in Manhattan, making her first public comments on [...]

More From Our Brands

Access exclusive content