Shonda Rhimes — creator of “Grey’s Anatomy,” and “Scandal,” and executive producer of “How to Get Away with Murder” —  has been selected by the Writers Guild of America West for its Paddy Chayefsky Laurel Award for Television Writing Achievement.

The trophy will presented at the Writers Guild Awards West Coast ceremony on Feb. 14 at the Hyatt Regency Century Plaza in Los Angeles.

“Few writers in television have had the impact on the medium that Shonda Rhimes has,” said WGA West President Chris Keyser. “Her ability to create, consistently, television that is, at once, excellent, provocative and crowd-pleasing is almost the least of it. She is a breaker of barriers.”

Keyser noted that Rhimes has given voice to characters who had been voiceless and has been fearless in tackling issues.

“Offscreen, she has been a mentor to a generation of writers – some of whom are women, some of whom are writers of color – all of whom will look to her as a pioneer in a business that is now more diverse and more vibrant because she played her part,” he added. “She is, in every way, the embodiment of the qualities that the Television Laurel celebrates, and her guild is proud to welcome her into the select group of writers so honored.”

Rhimes won a 2006 WGA Award for new series for “Grey’s Anatomy” along with the 2007 Producers Guild Award, the 2007 Golden Globe for Outstanding Television Drama and consecutive wins from 2007 – 2011 for the NAACP Image Award for Outstanding Writing in a Dramatic Series as well as five wins for Outstanding Drama Series.

For “Scandal,” Rhimes was the 2013 winner of the AFI Award, Peabody Award and NAACP Image Award for Outstanding Drama Series. For “Private Practice,” Rhimes received the Television Academy Honors award in 2010 and 2011, as well as the Prism Award for Outstanding Writing for a Drama Series in 2011.

Past Television Laurel Award recipients include Steven Bochco, Susan Harris, Stephen J. Cannell, David Chase, Larry David, Diane English, Marshall Herskovitz & Ed Zwick, Joshua Brand & John Falsey and Garry Marshall.