“American Hustle” and “The Wolf of Wall Street,” both shut out from Oscar wins this year, received the most nominations of films in contention for the fan-voted 2014 MTV Movies Awards, which the cabler announced today.

The top movie of the year category will pit those two pics against “12 Years a Slave” — which has won best-picture laurels including Oscar and Golden Globes — “The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug” and “The Hunger Games: Catching Fire.”

SEE ALSO: Conan O’Brien to Host MTV Movie Awards, With Assist From YouTube Creators Our2ndLife

Overall, “American Hustle” and “Wolf of Wall Street” received eight noms, followed by “Hunger Games” (seven), “We’re the Millers” (six) and five movies with four nominations each: “12 Years a Slave,” “Anchorman 2: The Legend Continues,” “Dallas Buyers Club,” “The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug” and “This is the End.”

“Gravity,” a big Oscars winner, is nominated in only one MTV Movie Awards category (Sandra Bullock for best female perf).

By studio, Paramount — owned by Viacom, which is also MTV’s parent — led noms with 16, followed by Columbia (14), Universal Pictures (seven), Lionsgate (seven), New Line Cinema (seven), Warner Bros. (six), Focus Features (five), Fox Searchlight Pictures (five), Walt Disney Studios Motion Pictures (five) and 20th Century Fox (two).

MTV execs and producers pick the nominees, and the winners are crowned by open Internet voting. The network opened online voting today (at mtv.com/ontv/movieawards) and will run through Saturday, April 12. Voting for movie of the year will continue throughout the live broadcast of the show. The kudocast, hosted by Conan O’Brien, will air live on Sunday, April 13, at 9 p.m. ET/PT from the Nokia Theatre at L.A. Live.

Here are the 2014 MTV Movie Awards nominees in top categories: 

Movie of the Year: “12 Years a Slave”; “American Hustle”; “The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug”; “The Hunger Games: Catching Fire”; “The Wolf of Wall Street”

Best Female Performance: Amy Adams, “American Hustle”; Jennifer Aniston, “We’re the Millers”; Sandra Bullock, “Gravity”; Jennifer Lawrence, “The Hunger Games: Catching Fire”; Lupita Nyong’o, “12 Years a Slave”

Best Male Performance: Bradley Cooper, “American Hustle”; Leonardo DiCaprio, “The Wolf of Wall Street”; Chiwetel Ejiofor, “12 Years a Slave”; Josh Hutcherson, “Hunger Games: Catching Fire”; Matthew McConaughey, “Dallas Buyers Club”

Breakthrough Performance:  Liam James, “The Way Way Back”; Michael B. Jordan, “Fruitvale Station”; Will Poulter, “We’re the Millers”; Margot Robbie, “The Wolf of Wall Street”; Miles Teller, “The Spectacular Now”

Best Comedic Performance: Kevin Hart, “Ride Along”; Jonah Hill, “The Wolf of Wall Street”; Johnny Knoxville, “Jackass Presents: Bad Grandpa”; Melissa McCarthy, “The Heat”; Jason Sudeikis, “We’re the Millers”

Best On-Screen Transformation: Christian Bale, “American Hustle”; Elizabeth Banks, “The Hunger Games: Catching Fire”; Orlando Bloom, “The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug”; Jared Leto, “Dallas Buyers Club”; Matthew McConaughey, “Dallas Buyers Club”