FX has revealed the first cast photo for “American Horror Story: Freak Show,” which will premiere on October 8. The latest installment in Ryan Murphy’s horror anthology features “AHS” alums Jessica Lange, Kathy Bates, Sarah Paulson, Angela Bassett, Frances Conroy, Evan Peters, Emma Roberts and Denis O’Hare, along with series newcomers Michael Chiklis, Patti LaBelle, Finn Wittrock and John Carroll Lynch.

“Freak Show” begins its tale in the quiet, sleepy hamlet of Jupiter, Florida. The year is 1952. A troupe of curiosities has just arrived to town, coinciding with the strange emergence of a dark entity that savagely threatens the lives of townsfolk and freaks alike. This is the story of the performers and their desperate journey of survival amidst the dying world of the American carny experience.

Matt Bomer and Wes Bentley will also guest star, with Neil Patrick Harris expressing interest in a role. On the Emmy Awards red carpet, Murphy told Variety that he also hopes to cast Cicely Tyson, and already has a character in mind.

“American Horror Story: Freak Show” premieres Oct. 8 at 10 p.m. on FX.