Garry Marshall Tapped for WGA’s Paddy Chayefksy Award

Award to be presented Feb. 1

Garry Marshall — the man behind “Happy Days,” “Laverne & Shirley” and “Mork & Mindy” — will receive the Writers Guild of America West’s 2014 Paddy Chayefsky Laurel Award for Television Writing Achievement.

The honor will be presented at the Writers Guild Awards’ West Coast ceremony on Feb. 1 at the JW Marriott Los Angeles.

Garry Marshall’s filmography – from ‘The Joey Bishop Show’ to ‘Happy Days’ – is a virtual history of American television comedy,” said WGA West president Christopher Keyser. “Both of-their-time and timeless, his shows are a gentle, generous, comic mirror held up to late mid-century America. And no one is a finer or funnier chronicler of friendship – male or female (or alien) – than Garry Marshall.”

Marshall created or co-created and executive produced “Happy Days” (1974-84), “Laverne & Shirley” (1976-83), “Joanie Loves Chachi,” “Mork & Mindy,” “Angie,” “Makin’ It,” “The Brian Keith Show,”  and “Hey, Landlord!”

He also developed “The New Odd Couple.” His other TV writing or co-writing credits include  “The Odd Couple,” “The Dick Van Dyke Show,” “The Danny Thomas Show,” “Love American Style,” “I Spy,” “The Lucy Show,” “Gomer Pyle USMC,” and “Bob Hope Presents Chrysler Theatre.”

He has been a WGA member since 1962 and earned a Writers Guild Award in 1967 for co-writing the “Road to Lebanon” episode of “The Danny Thomas Special.” In 1995, Marshall received the WGA’s Valentine Davies Award.

As an executive producer Marshall has earned four primetime Emmy nominations: three for “The Odd Couple” and one for “Mork & Mindy.”

Marshall’s screenwriting credits include “The Other Sister,” “The Flamingo Kid” and  “How Sweet It Is.” He’s also been a specialist in directing romantic comedies including “Pretty Woman,” “Valentine’s Day,” “New Year’s Eve,”  “The Princess Diaries” and its sequel “The Princess Diaries 2: Royal Engagement,” and “Runaway Bride” along with  “Dear God,” “Frankie and Johnny” and “Beaches.”

Marshall also appeared as an actor in “Lost in America,” “Race to Witch Mountain,” “A League of Their Own” (directed by his sister Penny Marshall), “Soapdish” and Keeping Up with the Steins” (directed by his son Scott Marshall).

In 2012, Marshall published his memoir “My Happy Days in Hollywood,” co-written with his daughter Lori. His first book was “Wake Me When It’s Funny: How to Break Into Show Business and Stay There.”

Past Television Laurel Award recipients include Steven Bochco, Susan Harris, Stephen J. Cannell, David Chase, Larry David, Diane English, Marshall Herskovitz & Ed Zwick, and Joshua Brand & John Falsey.



More TV

  • Claire Denis attends the 32nd European

    Claire Denis and Phedon Papamichael Join Doha Film Institute's Qumra Lineup

    The Doha Film Institute has added French auteur Claire Denis and Oscar-nominated cinematographer Phedon Papamichael (“Nebraska”) to the lineup of star talent who will act as mentors for the Qumra Masters program during its upcoming Qumra event dedicated to fostering fresh Arab film fare that is opening up to TV projects. They join previously announced [...]

  • Rihanna

    Rihanna Pleads for Equality at NAACP Image Awards: 'Tell Your Friends to Pull Up'

    Rihanna was the recipient of the NAACP President’s Award. The honor is bestowed on an entertainer whose commitment to philanthropy is unparalleled. Rihanna, whose chosen charities include the Clara Lionel Foundation, Raising Malawi and UNICEF and was honored as Harvard’s Humanitarian of the Year in 2017, was in attendance for the NAACP Image Awards show, [...]

  • Bernie Sanders, Jane Sanders. Democratic presidential

    Bernie Sanders Projected to Win Nevada Democratic Caucus

    Bernie Sanders is now projected to win the Nevada caucus. Per the Associated Press, Sanders has captured 54% of the delegates with 4% of precincts reporting on Saturday afternoon. Joe Biden is currently in a distant second with 17.8%, while Elizabeth Warren rose to third with 10%. Pete Buttigieg is in fourth place with 8.7%, [...]

  • Lizzo51st Annual NAACP Image Awards, Arrivals,

    NAACP Winners 2020: The Complete List

    Lizzo was named Entertainer of the Year at the 51st NAACP Image Awards on Saturday. The singer-rapper edged out Angela Bassett, Billy Porter, Regina King and Tyler Perry for the night’s top prize. Warner Bros.’ legal drama “Just Mercy,” meanwhile, nearly swept the top film awards, taking home best motion picture, ensemble, best actor (Michael [...]

  • Leonine Takes International Rights to Premium

    Leonine Takes International Rights to Premium Series 'Herzogpark'

    German media group Leonine has taken international distribution rights to the six-part premium series “Herzogpark,” following a deal with its producers Letterbox Filmproduktion (“Bad Banks”). The rights for German-speaking territories are held by Mediengruppe RTL Deutschland. The dramedy centers on four women from Munich’s upscale Herzogpark district, for whom keeping secrets has become a life’s [...]

More From Our Brands

Access exclusive content