Patton Oswalt, Taylor Schilling, George Takei, De La Soul Celebrate Webby Awards

“Yeah, don’t be in the moment,” said Patton Oswalt as he was greeted by a wave of cellphone cameras upon taking the stage at the 18th Annual Webby Awards Monday night. “It’s not like any of this will end up on the internet.” After the chided audience began to put their phones away, he smiled and told them to make sure to use the #Webbys hashtag while they were tweeting.

Presented by the International Academy of Digital Arts and Sciences, the Webby Awards, held at New York’s Cipriani Wall Street, honor achievements in websites, online advertising, interactive media and more. The audience was a mix of actors, musicians, website founders and viral video stars.  Webby winners acceptance speeches are famously limited to five words, which made the night feel like a series of IRL tweets from across the media spectrum, from Webby Actress of the Year Taylor Schilling, winning for “Orange is the New Black” (“I now have a Webby!”), to George Takei, winning for his video series “Takei’s Take” (“Shatner, eat your heart out!”) to the Norwegian comedy duo Ylvis, winning Best Viral Video for “The Fox” (“We came for the food.”).

The night was divided into two hour-long segments for acceptance speeches, many of them delivered via video, with a break for dinner and a performance from comedian-musician Fred Armisen as his faux punk character Ian Rubbish. Oswalt, hosting for the third time, was typically enthusiastic, gushing over presenter Patti Smith (“I hope Patti Smith doesn’t mind me saying this, but the Godmother of Punk is fucking adorable”) and making an impassioned plea for net neutrality (“Weirdos and mutants will find ways to keep the Internet free.”).

Roots drummer and “Late Night with Jimmy Fallon” bandleader Ahmir “Questlove” Thompson presented the Artist of the Year Award to the pioneering hip-hop group De La Soul. Because of copyright and clearance issues with some of the samples they used, the majority of the group’s work has been unavailable via digital music platforms like Spotify and iTunes for years, so on Valentine’s Day the group gave the majority of the albums away as free downloads via their site. The group stuck to the five-word limit during their acceptance speech (“check, check, testing, one, two”), but earlier in the night explained to Variety the reasoning behind giving their giveaway.

“For so long we’ve been traveling on the road, and our fans have been telling us it’s been difficult to get the music online, because of contractual things in the past with labels. For us, the folks were sitting around wanting it, so sincerely, we were like ‘fuck it, let’s just give it to the folks,'” said Dave “Trugoy” Jolicoeur. “And Valentine’s Day was coming up, and it seemed like a nice gift for our fans. We love our fans.”

A complete list of winners is available here. Buzzfeed will announce the winner for Meme of the Year.

After the ceremony Questlove and the DJ Mister Saturday Night hosted an afterparty at the Highline Ballroom.

(Pictured: Natasha Lyonne and Taylor Schilling of “Orange Is the New Black” at the Webby Awards)

Popular on Variety

More Digital

  • T.J. Dillashaw, right, kicks Cody Garbrandt

    Disney Plans UFC Broadcast for FX

    UFC matches will return to FX  – but not on a permanent basis. ESPN has been showing preliminary bouts to UFC pay-per-view events for the last while on ESPN and ESPN2, and then showing the main card on its ESPN+ subscription video service. In September, the early lineup will air on FX, which the UFC [...]

  • fundo logo

    Google‘s Area 120 Is Testing Fundo, a Crowdfunding Service for Creators (EXCLUSIVE)

    Google’s skunkworks lab Area 120 has been quietly testing an events-centric crowdfunding service for YouTubers, Variety has learned. Called Fundo, the service allows creators to invite their fans to virtual meet & greet sessions and other paid online events. A Google spokesperson confirmed the testing in a statement provided to Variety: “One of the many [...]

  • Telling Lies - Logan Marshall-Green

    Sam Barlow's 'Telling Lies' Government-Surveillance Thriller Game Sets Release Date

    After more than two years in the works, “Telling Lies” — the investigative thriller from acclaimed game creator Sam Barlow — is ready to take the stage. The game, produced with and released by Annapurna Interactive, will be available next Friday, Aug. 23, via Steam and Apple’s Mac and iOS app stores. “Telling Lies” will [...]

  • YouTube logo

    YouTube Will Stop Letting Copyright Holders Seize Revenue via Manual Claims on Very Short Music Clips

    YouTube is pushing back against overzealous copyright policing by music companies. Starting in mid-September, the video giant will forbid copyright holders from making manual claims to commandeer revenue generated by YouTube videos that include very short music clips (e.g., five seconds of a song) or “unintentional” music (like music from passing cars). “One concerning trend [...]

  • Chelsea Handler memoir book buy online

    Chelsea Handler Bonds With Alexa in iHeartRadio Smart Speaker Promo

    iHeartRadio has teamed up with Amazon to promote Chelsea Handler’s podcast “Life Will Be The Death Of Me.” Beginning this Thursday, users of Amazon’s Echo smart speaker and other devices with Alexa built-in can opt to get their mornings started with Handler cracking jokes and exchanging banter with the smart assistant. Users simply have to [...]

  • David Messinger, Activision Blizzard

    Activision Blizzard Hires CAA Veteran David Messinger as CMO

    Activision Blizzard tapped David Messinger, a former 15-plus-year veteran of CAA, as its first corporate-wide chief marketing officer. Messinger, based in Santa Monica, reports to Coddy Johnson, Activision Blizzard’s president and COO. It’s the first time the video-game company has appointed a CMO who will oversee the global marketing operations across all of Activision Blizzard [...]

More From Our Brands

Access exclusive content