Tom Petty will be honored by the American Society of Composers, Authors and Publishers (ASCAP) with the Founders award during the org’s 31st annual Pop Music Awards.

The event, which celebrates the songwriters and publishers of ASCAP’s most performed pop songs of 2013, will be held April 23 at the Loews Hollywood Hotel in Los Angeles.

Petty, best known as the frontman for Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers, first emerged in the late ’70s and went on to notch hits including “Breakdown,” “American Girl,” “I Need to Know,” “Free Fallin’,” “Don’t Do Me Like That,” “Refugee” and “The Waiting.”

He joins past recipients including Ashford and Simpson, Burt Bacharach and Hal David, Jackson Browne, Elvis Costello, Billy Joel, Paul McCartney, Joni Mitchell, Smokey Robinson, Carly Simon, Stevie Wonder and Neil Young.

“Tom is the very definition of an American music icon. Not only is he one of the most admired and beloved songwriters of our time, his music continues to be a major influence and inspiration to new generations of songwriters today,” ASCAP president and chairman Paul Williams said in a statement. “He has earned music’s highest honors – Grammys, induction into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, the distinction of being one of the best-selling artists of all time.”

Grammy-winning band Fun will also receive the ASCAP Vanguard award, which recognizes the impact of musical genres that help shape the future of American music.

The Pop Music Awards will precede the annual ASCAP “I Create Music” expo, a three-day songwriting and composing conference featuring panelists including Dr. Luke, Amy Grant and Glen Ballard.