You will be redirected back to your article in seconds

Drama Desk Toasts Broadway’s ‘Gentleman’s Guide’ at 2014 Awards (COMPLETE LIST)

Broadway musical “A Gentleman’s Guide to Love and Murder” got in one last awards-season kill before the Tonys, slaying its competitors at the 2014 Drama Desk Awards and emerging with seven trophies including the top award for musical.

Robert Shenkkan’s “All the Way” scored the laurel for play, with the topliner of that show, Bryan Cranston, snagging the lead actor award. “Hedwig and the Angry Inch” nabbed the crown for musical revival, while that show’s star, Neil Patrick Harris, shared the garland for lead actor in a musical with “Gentleman’s Guide” star Jefferson Mays.

That was one of two tied awards for “Gentleman’s Guide” alongside the featured actress statue for Lauren Worsham, sharing the kudo with fellow winner Anika Larsen of “Beautiful.”

Jessie Mueller, who plays Carole King in “Beautiful,” scored the lead actress in a musical award, beating out most of the actresses with whom she will compete in the same tight category come Tony night.

Many of the Drama Desk winners are also in the running for Tonys, and these latest wins add further awards-season momentum to each of the trophy recipients. Still, such kudos, voted on by different segments of the industry than the Tonys, can prove unreliable bellwethers for the legit industry’s biggest kudofest, set to take place this year at Radio City Music Hall on June 8.

The Drama Desks were held June 1 at midtown Gotham venue Town Hall.

The winners of the 2014 Drama Desk Awards are:


“All the Way”


“A Gentleman’s Guide to Love and Murder”

Revival of a Play

“Twelfth Night”

Revival of a Musical

“Hedwig and the Angry Inch”

Actor in a Play

Bryan Cranston, “All the Way”

Actress in a Play

Audra McDonald, “Lady Day at Emerson’s Bar and Grill”

Actor in a Musical (TIE)

Neil Patrick Harris, “Hedwig and the Angry Inch”

Jefferson Mays, “A Gentleman’s Guide to Love and Murder”

Actress in a Musical

Jessie Mueller, “Beautiful”

Featured Actor in a Play

Reed Birney, “Casa Valentina”

Featured Actress in a Play

Celia Keenan-Bolger, “The Glass Menagerie”

Featured Actor in a Musical

James Monroe Iglehart, “Aladdin”

Featured Actress in a Musical (TIE)

Anika Larsen, “Beautiful”

Lauren Worsham, “A Gentleman’s Guide to Love and Murder”

Director of a Play

“Twelfth Night,” Tim Carroll

Director of a Musical

Darko Tresnjak, “A Gentleman’s Guide to Love and Murder”


Warren Carlyle, “After Midnight”


Jason Robert Brown, “The Bridges of Madison County”


Robert L. Freedman and Steven Lutvak, “A Gentleman’s Guide to Love and Murder”

Book of a Muiscal

Robert L. Freedman, “A Gentleman’s Guide to Love and Murder”


Jason Robert Brown, “The Bridges of Madison County”

Music in a Play

Nico Muhly, “The Glass Menagerie”


“After Midnight”

Set Design

Christopher Barreca, “Rocky”

Costume Design

William Ivey Love, “Bullets Over Broadway”

Lighting Design

Christopher Akerlind, “Rocky”

Projection Design

Aaron Rhyne, “A Gentleman’s Guide to Love and Murder”

Sound Design in a Musical

Brian Ronan, “Beautiful”

Sound Design in a Play

Matt Tierney, “Machinal”

Solo Performance

John Douglas Thompson, “Satchmo at the Waldorf”

Unique Theatrical Experience


Special Awards

Soho Rep

Veanne Cox

Ed Sylvanus Iskandar

The ensembles of Off Broadway’s “The Open House” and Broadway’s “The Realistic Joneses” and to the creator of both plays, Will Eno

More Legit

  • The American Clock review

    London Theater Review: 'The American Clock'

    Time is money. Money is time. Both come unstuck in “The American Clock.” Arthur Miller’s kaleidoscopic account of the Great Depression, part autobiography, part social history, crawls through the decade after the Wall Street crash, dishing up snapshots of daily life. In the Old Vic’s classy revival, director Rachel Chavkin (“Hadestown”) tunes into the play’s [...]

  • Jake Gyllenhaal

    Off Broadway Review: Jake Gyllenhaal in 'Sea Wall/A Life'

    Comfy? Okay, let’s talk Death: sudden death, painful death, lingering death, accidental death, and whatever other kinds of death happen to come into the receptive minds of playwrights Simon Stephens (“Sea Wall”) and Nick Payne (“A Life”). The writing in these separate monologues — playing together on a double bill at the Public Theater — [...]

  • Michael Jackson Estate Cancels Musical Test-Run

    Michael Jackson Estate Cancels Musical Test-Run

    With an HBO documentary that places strong allegations of abuse against Michael Jackson premiering in two weeks, the late singer’s estate announced Thursday that is cancelling a scheduled Chicago test run of a jukebox musical about him. The estate and its producing partner in the musical, Columbia Live Stage, said that they’re setting their sights on going [...]

  • All About Eve review

    West End Review: Gillian Anderson and Lily James in 'All About Eve'

    To adapt a crass old adage: it’s “All About Eve,” not “All About Steve.” Stripping Joseph L. Mankiewicz’s sharp-witted screenplay about a waning theater star of its period trappings, Ivo van Hove’s stage adaptation fine-tunes its feminism for our own sexist age — image-obsessed, anti-aging, the time of Time’s Up. Rather than blaming Lily James’ [...]

  • Adam Shankman

    Listen: Why Adam Shankman Directs Every Movie Like It's a Musical

    Director Adam Shankman’s latest movie, the Taraji P. Henson comedy “What Men Want,” isn’t a musical. But as one of Hollywood’s top director-choreographers of musicals and musical sequences, he approaches even non-musicals with a sense of tempo. Listen to this week’s podcast below: “When I read a script, it processes in my head like a [...]

  • Matthew Bourne's 'Cinderella' Review

    L.A. Theater Review: Matthew Bourne's 'Cinderella'

    How much can you change “Cinderella” before it is no longer “Cinderella”? In the case of choreography maestro Matthew Bourne — who, it should be said, first unveiled his spin on the classic folk tale some 22 years ago — the music is most certainly “Cinderella” (Prokofiev’s 1945 score, to be exact), but the plot [...]

  • 'Pinter Seven' Review: Martin Freeman Stars

    West End Review: 'Pinter Seven' Starring Martin Freeman

    “Pinter at the Pinter” has been an education — a crash course in Britain’s greatest post-war playwright. Director-producer Jamie Lloyd’s star-studded, six-month sprint through Harold Pinter’s short plays and sketches has been exquisitely curated and consistently revelatory. Not only has Lloyd tuned audiences into the writer’s technique, his unconventional groupings have exposed a load of [...]

More From Our Brands

Access exclusive content