Megan Mullally, Nick Offerman To Host Off Broadway’s Lortel Awards

Producer Robyn Goodman will receive the lifetime achievement award in a May 4 ceremony

The Off Broadway League has tapped Megan Mullally and Nick Offerman, set to appear Off Broadway this spring, to host the 2014 Lucille Lortel Awards. Producer Robyn Goodman will take home the lifetime achievement honor at the 29th annual Off Broadway kudofest.

Mullally and Offerman, appearing in the upcoming New Group production of Sharr White’s play “Annapurna” after starring in the title in an earlier L.A. run, are among the recognizable faces in a fairly starry Off Broadway season that has already included stints from Sarah Jessica Parker (“The Commons of Pensacola”), Elizabeth Olsen (“Romeo and Juliet”) and Ed Harris and Bill Pullman (“The Jacksonian”).

Longtime producer Goodman scores the lifetime achievement kudo for a career that began in acting before she went on to co-found Off Broadway’s Second Stage Theater. She then turned to commercial producing, with credits including “Avenue Q,” “Bengal Tiger at the Baghdad Zoo” and the current revival of “Cinderella.” She’s also affiliated with the Roundabout Theater Company’s new work development program Roundabout Underground, and was recently named exec producer at the Bucks County Playhouse.

The Lortel Awards honor outstanding Off Broadway fare, leaving Broadway trophies to other orgs including the Tonys. According to the Lortel calendar, the 2013-14 Off Broadway season ends March 31, with noms announced April 1 ahead of a May 4 ceremony at New York U.’s Skirball Center.




Popular on Variety

More Legit

  • David-Alan-Grier-Blair-Underwood

    David Alan Grier and Blair Underwood to Star in 'A Soldier's Play' on Broadway

    David Alan Grier and Blair Underwood will star in a Broadway production of Pulitzer-Prize winning drama “A Soldier’s Play.” The play, written by Charles Fuller, is set in 1944 and follows a murder mystery centered around the death of black Sergeant Vernon C. Waters (played by Grier) who is found on a Louisiana army base. [...]

  • The Inheritance review

    'The Inheritance' Announces Broadway Cast

    After an Olivier-winning run in London, “The Inheritance” is gearing up for its Broadway debut. The two-part epic has set the cast for its transfer from the West End to the Great White Way. John Benjamin Hickey, Paul Hilton, Samuel H. Levine, Andrew Burnap and Kyle Soller are among the cast members reprising their roles [...]

  • Patrick Page, Amber Grey, Eva Noblezada,

    'Hadestown' Announces 2020 National Tour

    ‘Hadestown’, the eight-time Tony award winning Broadway musical, is set for a national tour in 2020. The show will stop in more than 30 cities including Denver, Houston, Los Angeles, Minneapolis, New Orleans, and more. The musical is a stage adaptation of the Greek myths of Orpheus and Eurydice and King Hades and his wife [...]

  • Jake Gyllenhaal

    Listen: Why Jake Gyllenhaal Is His 'Best Self' in the Theater

    Looking for the best possible version of Jake Gyllenhaal? You’ll find it onstage, according to the actor himself. Listen to this week’s podcast below: “I am my best self when I’m working in the theater,” Gyllenhaal said on the latest episode Stagecraft, Variety’s theater podcast, on which he appeared with Carrie Cracknell, the director of [...]

  • Photo: Jeremy Daniel

    'The Lightning Thief: The Percy Jackson Musical' Gets Broadway Run

    “The Lightning Thief: The Percy Jackson Musical” is Broadway bound. The musical adaptation of the franchise about a teenager who discovers he’s the son of Poseidon hits the Great White Way on Sept. 20 ahead of an Oct. 16 opening night. It comes on the heels of an extensive, nationwide tour that took the show [...]

  • Tom Sturridge Jake Gyllenhaal

    Jake Gyllenhaal and Tom Sturridge Celebrate 'Sea Wall/A Life' With Star-Studded Opening Night

    A star-studded audience looked on as Jake Gyllenhaal and Tom Sturridge returned to the stage for their double monologue performance in “Sea Wall/A Life.” Theater-goers and celebs including Anne Hathaway, Tom Hiddleston and John Mulaney gathered in Manhattan’s Hudson Theatre for opening night, celebrating a show tackling grief, birth and death through the eyes of [...]

More From Our Brands

Access exclusive content