Paul Mazursky will receive the Writers Guild of America West’s 2014 Screen Laurel Award to honor his lifetime achievement in outstanding writing for motion pictures.

Mazursky will receive the honor at the Writers Guild Awards West Coast ceremony on Feb. 1 at the JW Marriott Los Angeles.

“Paul Mazursky’s talents as an actor (he was in Stanley Kubrick’s first film) and filmmaker (one of the signature directors of the 1970s) should not be allowed to obscure a central fact: he is among our greatest living screenwriters,” said WGA West VP Howard Rodman. “‘Bob & Carol & Ted & Alice,’ ‘Blume in Love,’ ‘Harry and Tonto,’ ‘Next Stop, Greenwich Village,’ ‘An Unmarried Woman’ – five films in six years, any of which can make you laugh and cry, break and mend your heart. His voice is strong, unique, hilarious, wise, unmistakable.”

Rodman cited “Down and Out in Beverly Hills,” “Scenes from a Mall” and his adaptations of Shakespeare (“Tempest”) and I. B. Singer (“Enemies: A Love Story”), all of which he also directed, as “unflinching and celebratory.”

Mazursky has received 10 WGA nominations and has been a WGA member since 1963. He began his career as a television writer and won his first Writers Guild award in 1966 for “The Danny Kaye Show.”

He received four Oscar screenplay nominations for “Bob & Carol & Ted & Alice,” “Harry and Tonto,” “An Unmarried Woman” and “Enemies, a Love Story” and another Oscar nod as a producer of “An Unmarried Woman.”

Mazursky first appeared as an actor in Kubrick’s first feature “Fear and Desire” and then as a juvenile delinquent in  1955’s “The Blackboard Jungle.”

Mazursky also appeared as an actor in “Deathwatch,” “A Star is Born,” “Punchline,” “Scenes from the Class Struggle in Beverly Hills,” “Man Trouble,” “Carlito’s Way,” “2 Days in the Valley”  and “Crazy in Alabama.” He also appeared in numerous TV shows, including “The Sopranos,” “Curb Your Enthusiasm,” “The Twilight Zone” and “Frasier.”

Mazursky received the L.A. Film Critics Association’s Career Achievement Award in 2010, the Costume Designer Guild’s Distinguished Director Award in 1999, and the Cinema Audio Society’s Filmmaker Award in 2009. He serves on the board of governors of AMPAS.

He was awarded with the 2,515th star of the Hollywood Walk of Fame last month.

The Laurel Award for Screenwriting Achievement has been presented in past years to David Mamet, Lawrence Kasdan, Robert Benton, Barry Levinson, Steven Zaillian, Eric Roth, and Tom Stoppard.