You will be redirected back to your article in seconds

Oscar Nominations Backed Up by SAG Choices

Thursday’s Academy Award nominations underlined the continued reliability of SAG voters in forecasting Oscar nods.

Seventeen of the 25 SAG feature nominations landed Oscar mentions — an impressive record that’s in line with historical performance. The SAG winners will be announced Saturday in ceremonies at the Shrine Auditorium in Los Angeles.

Three of the five SAG Ensemble nominations showed up Thursday in the Oscar Best Picture  category with “12 Years a Slave,” “American Hustle” and “Dallas Buyers Club” while the Academy overlooked “August: Osage County” and “The Butler.”

Most of the divergences between Oscar and SAG nominations in the individual categories stemmed from “American Hustle” and “The Wolf of Wall Street” not having been in theaters when SAG voters were casting their ballots. The SAG noms were announced on Dec. 11.

In the lead actor category, Bruce Dern (“Nebraska”), Chiwetel Ejiofor (“12 Years”) and Matthew McConaughey (“Dallas Buyers Club”) followed up SAG nods with Oscar noms; SAG nominees Tom Hanks (“Captain Phillips”) and Forest Whitaker (“Lee Daniels’ ‘The Butler'”) were excluded in favor of Christian Bale (“American Hustle”) and Leonardo DiCaprio (“The Wolf of Wall Street”).

Oscar nominations matched SAG’s in the lead actress category with Cate Blanchett (“Blue Jasmine”), Sandra Bullock (“Gravity”), Judi Dench (“Philomena”) and Meryl Streep (“August: Osage County”). The Academy selected Amy Adams (“American Hustle”) for the fifth slot while SAG had opted for Emma Thompson (“Saving Mr. Banks”).

The supporting actor race saw Barkhad Abdi (“Captain Phillips”), Michael Fassbender (“12 Years a Slave”) and Jared Leto (“Dallas Buyers Club”) follow their SAG nominations with an Oscar nom. SAG nominees Daniel Bruhl (“Rush”) and the late James Gandolfini (“Enough Said”) were overlooked by Oscar in favor of Bradley Cooper (“American Hustle”)  and Jonah Hill (“The Wolf of Wall Street”).

Four of SAG supporting actress nominations matched Oscar nominations with Lupita Nyong’o (“12 Years a Slave”), Jennifer Lawrence (“American Hustle”), June Squibb (“Nebraska”) and  Julia Roberts (“August: Osage County”). But Oprah Winfrey did not receive her second Oscar supporting actress nomination despite being nominated for a SAG Award for  “Lee Daniels’ ‘The Butler.” Instead, Sally Hawkins received an Oscar nom for “Blue Jasmine.”

The winner of the SAG ensemble trophy has matched the best pic Oscar winner in nine of the last 18 years including “Argo” last year.

The performers union served as a strong indicator in the Oscar acting categories last year with 14 of its 20 nominees going on to receive Oscar noms. Jennifer Lawrence and Daniel Day-Lewis (“Lincoln”) won both the Oscar and SAG lead acting trophies and Anne Hathaway won both awards for supporting actress for “Les Miserables” while Tommy Lee Jones won the SAG supporting actor trophy for “Lincoln” and Christoph Waltz won the supporting actor Oscar for “Django.”

The entire SAG-AFTRA membership of about 150,000 is eligible to cast ballots for the winners. Actors constitute the largest branch of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences with 1,176 active members or about 20%.

More Film

  • Viola Davis, Chadwick Boseman Starring in

    Viola Davis, Chadwick Boseman Starring in 'Ma Rainey's Black Bottom' for Netflix

    Viola Davis and Chadwick Boseman will star in the movie adaptation of the play “Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom” for Netflix. George C. Wolfe (“Lackawanna Blues”) will direct from a script by Ruben Santiago-Hudson, based on the award-winning play by August Wilson. Other cast include Glynn Turman, Colman Domingo (“If Beale Street Could Talk”) and Michael Potts. Denzel [...]

  • Crazy Bitches

    Why the CASE Act Will Empower Creatives to Fight the Horrors of Piracy

    Our horror film, “Crazy Bitches,” was released on Valentine’s Day 2015. We invested in an online marketing campaign that resulted in two times the industry clickthrough rate and 2.6M social media impressions in the week leading up to the release. So, we had reason to expect a successful return. What we didn’t count on was [...]

  • Alamo Drafthouse LA

    Alamo Drafthouse to Open in Downtown Los Angeles in July

    The Alamo Drafthouse Cinema chain is planning to open its first Los Angeles location with a “soft launch” in early July in the city’s downtown. The Texas-based chain, which has 38 locations, specializes food and drink service with unique programming. It announced Wednesday that the Los Angeles site, located at the Bloc, would offer an [...]

  • Max Landis Dropped by Manager Following

    Max Landis Dropped by Manager Following Sexual Assault Allegations

    Max Landis has been dropped as a client by his manager, a day after sexual assault allegations emerged against the  screenwriter. “I do not represent Max Landis,” Britton Rizzio at Writ Large Management told Variety in a statement. Landis is facing allegations of sexual abuse and psychological manipulation from eight women who told their stories [...]

  • Fox Layoffs

    Another Round of Layoffs Hit Disney and 20th Century Fox Film Divisions (EXCLUSIVE)

    Another round of layoffs are going down for employees merged in Disney’s acquisition of 20th Century Fox, individuals with knowledge of the company told Variety. The Wednesday reduction is the smallest round the studio has enacted since formally acquiring the film and TV assets of 20th Century in March, with a few dozen employees being [...]

  • Lin-Manuel Miranda

    Netflix Lands Lin-Manuel Miranda's 'Tick, Tick... Boom!' (EXCLUSIVE)

    Following a heated bidding war, Netflix has walked away with the rights to “Tick, Tick… Boom!” a musical adaptation to be directed by “Hamilton” creator Lin-Manuel Miranda. Sources say Andrew Garfield is the top choice to star, though no deal is done. “Dear Evan Hansen” writer Steven Levenson adapting the script based on the original [...]

More From Our Brands

Access exclusive content