You will be redirected back to your article in seconds

‘Boyhood’ Wins Best Picture, Director From L.A. Film Critics

Patricia Arquette, Tom Hardy take lead acting honors

Boyhood,” Richard Linklater’s 12-years-in-the-making epic of childhood, won four prizes from the Los Angeles Film Critics Assn. on Sunday: best picture, director, actress for Patricia Arquette and editor for Sandra Adair.

The IFC Films release, a critical favorite ever since its world premiere at the Sundance Film Festival in January, was also tapped for picture and director honors by the New York Film Critics Circle. The Gotham group also honored Arquette for her turn as a college professor and mother of two in “Boyhood,” but for supporting actress, not lead.

Running a close second among the group’s favorites was Wes Anderson’s 1930s mittel-European caper pic “The Grand Budapest Hotel,” which was honored for Anderson’s screenplay and Adam Stockhausen’s production design. The Fox Searchlight release was the runner-up for picture and director.

The other multiple prizewinner of the day was Polish director Pawel Pawlikowski’s “Ida.” Released by Music Box Films in the U.S., the stark black-and-white drama drew awards not only for foreign-language film, but also for supporting actress Agata Kulesza, who plays the title character’s aunt, a former state prosecutor in communist Poland.

The award for best actor went to Tom Hardy for his one-man show in Steven Knight’s “Locke,” in a surprise victory over Michael Keaton in “Birdman.” Although strongly favored in the picture and director categories, Alejandro Gonzalez Inarritu’s film took only one prize, for Emmanuel Lubezki’s cinematography. (It’s Lubezki’s fourth prize from the L.A. critics; he previously won for “Children of Men,” “The Tree of Life” and “Gravity.”)

J.K. Simmons won best supporting actor for his ferocious turn as the jazz-band leader from hell in “Whiplash,” adding to his earlier citation by the New York critics. The runner-up in that category was Edward Norton for “Birdman.”

The animation prize went to Japanese director Isao Takahata’s hand-drawn “The Tale of the Princess Kaguya,” beating out Warner Bros.’ CG toon “The Lego Movie.” “Citizenfour,” Laura Poitras’ portrait of NSA whistleblower Edward Snowden, took the prize for documentary/nonfiction film over “Life Itself,” Steve James’ film about the late Roger Ebert.

In a tie, Jonny Greenwood (“Inherent Vice”) and Mica Levi (“Under the Skin”) shared the prize for music/score. The New Generation prize went to director Ava DuVernay for “Selma,” her dramatic account of Martin Luther King Jr.’s voting-rights march from the eponymous Alabama city.

As previously announced, Gena Rowlands will receive the group’s career achievement award. A special citation will go to longtime LAFCA member Leonard Maltin.

The full list of winners:

Picture: “Boyhood”
The Grand Budapest Hotel

Director: Richard Linklater, “Boyhood”
Wes Anderson, “The Grand Budapest Hotel”

Actor: Tom Hardy, “Locke”
 Michael Keaton, “Birdman”

Actress: Patricia Arquette, “Boyhood”
Julianne Moore, “Still Alice”

Supporting actor: J.K. Simmons, “Whiplash”
Runner-up: Edward Norton, “Birdman”

Supporting actress: Agata Kulesza, “Ida”
 Rene Russo, “Nightcrawler”

Screenplay: Wes Anderson,The Grand Budapest Hotel”
Runner-up: Alejandro Gonzalez Inarritu, Nicolas Giacobone, Alexander Dinelaris and Armando Bo, “Birdman”

Foreign-language film: “Ida”
“Winter Sleep”

Documentary/nonfiction film: “Citizenfour”
 “Life Itself”

Animation: “The Tale of the Princess Kaguya”
Runner-up: “The Lego Movie”

Cinematography: Emmanuel Lubezki, “Birdman”
Runner-up: Dick Pope, “Mr. Turner”

Production design: Adam Stockhausen, “The Grand Budapest Hotel”
Runner-up: Ondrej Nekvasil, “Snowpiercer”

Music/score: Jonny Greenwood, “Inherent Vice,” and Mica Levi, “Under the Skin” (tie)

Film editing: Sandra Adair, “Boyhood”
Runner-up: Barney Pilling, “The Grand Budapest Hotel”

New Generation: Ava DuVernay, “Selma”

Douglas Edwards Independent/Experimental Film/Video: Walter Reuben, “The David Whiting Story”

Career achievement: Gena Rowlands

Special citation: Leonard Maltin

Popular on Variety

More Film

  • Blake Lively

    Blake Lively's 'Rhythm Section' Moved Back to 2020

    Paramount Pictures has moved the release date of Blake Lively’s “The Rhythm Section” back two months from Nov. 22 to Jan. 31, 2020, the weekend of Super Bowl LIV. The spy tale, adapted from Mark Burnell’s novels surrounding character Stephanie Patrick, is produced by James Bond producers Barbara Broccoli and Michael G. Wilson through their [...]

  • The Mandalorian

    'The Mandalorian': Watch the First Trailer for 'Star Wars' Series

    The gunslinging lone warrior — the Mandalorian, as they call him — calls the far reaches of the “Star Wars” galaxy home. Disney dropped the first trailer for the spinoff series during its biennial D23 convention on Friday, finally giving fans a closer look at the franchise’s newest character. “The Mandalorian” creator Jon Favreau, who [...]

  • Lady and the Tramp trailer

    'Lady and the Tramp': Disney's Live-Action Remake Gets First Trailer (Watch)

    Ready your dog-friendly bowl of spaghetti, Disney has debuted the first trailer for its live-action remake of “Lady and the Tramp,” starring Tessa Thompson and Justin Theroux. The teaser was released during Disney’s D23 Expo in Anaheim at the Disney + presentation. In addition to Thompson and Theroux, who play the Lady and Tramp, respectively, [...]

  • Mickey Mouse waves to members of

    Spider-Man, Spicer and Splashy First-Looks: Everything We're Looking For at D23

    As if Disney hasn’t owned enough weekends this year at the box office, the biennial D23 Expo will light up Anaheim, Calif. over the next three days to celebrate the content monolith. From a new Netflix-competing streaming platform to scores of movie and series reveals — along with a few hot controversies to confront — [...]

  • Angel Has Fallen

    'Angel Has Fallen' to Dominate Modest Box Office With $20 Million Weekend

    Gerard Butler and Morgan Freeman are leading the way at the North American box office with “Angel Has Fallen” on its way to about $20 million, early estimates showed Friday. Should forecasts hold, “Angel Has Fallen” will take in about double the next title, Universal’s second weekend of raunchy comedy “Good Boys” with about $10 [...]

  • Aracne

    Sanfic Standout ‘Aracne’ Filmmakers Discuss the State of Chilean Genre

    A key project at this year’s Santiago Lab, the Santiago Intl. Film Festival industry forum for promising Latin American projects, Florencia Dupont’s “Aracne” is representative of a push from the next generation of Chilean filmmakers into genre cinema and the themes it can explore. “Aracne” turns on Beatriz, a young journalist at a small Santiago [...]

  • Eduardo Machuca

    Chile’s Eduardo Machuca Unveils Machuca Films Slate (EXCLUSIVE)

    SANTIAGO, Chile – Eduardo Machuca, the former film co-ordinator of Chile’s Ministry of Foreign Affairs, has launched his own production company, Machuca Films. “After 25 years at the ministry, I felt I needed to tap my creative side,” said Machuca, who is also tying the knot on Saturday (Aug. 24) with a former Sanfic staffer, [...]

More From Our Brands

Access exclusive content