‘Iceman’ Helmer to Direct Warner Bros’ ‘Somacell’ (EXCLUSIVE)

Ariel Vromen is in negotiations to direct

“The Iceman” helmer Ariel Vromen is in talks to direct the Warner Bros. sci-fi thriller “Somacell.”

David Goyer is producing the futuristic female driven thriller which is in the vein of “Minority Report” and “Inception.” In the pic, Somacell imagines a near future where violent criminals can be rehabilitated using technology that allows counselor to enter prisoners’ memories and influence them to change their actions. When one counselor starts to believe her patient is innocent, she unravels a terrifying conspiracy and maybe even her own reality.

Warners acquired the spec last year from first time scribe Ashleigh Powell. Jesse Ehrman is overseeing for the studio.

Vromen has a handful of films in development including the QED pic “Snowdrops” and Millennium Films “Criminal.”

He is repped by CAA and Untitled Entertainment.

More Film

  • 'Incident in a Ghostland' Review

    Film Review: 'Incident in a Ghostland'

    “The Iceman” helmer Ariel Vromen is in talks to direct the Warner Bros. sci-fi thriller “Somacell.” David Goyer is producing the futuristic female driven thriller which is in the vein of “Minority Report” and “Inception.” In the pic, Somacell imagines a near future where violent criminals can be rehabilitated using technology that allows counselor to […]

  • Scoot McNairy'Batman v Superman: Dawn of

    Film News Roundup: Scoot McNairy Joins Quentin Tarantino's 'Once Upon a Time in Hollywood'

    “The Iceman” helmer Ariel Vromen is in talks to direct the Warner Bros. sci-fi thriller “Somacell.” David Goyer is producing the futuristic female driven thriller which is in the vein of “Minority Report” and “Inception.” In the pic, Somacell imagines a near future where violent criminals can be rehabilitated using technology that allows counselor to […]

  • Gretchen Carlson

    Gretchen Carlson on How Her Roger Ailes Lawsuit Affected the Cosby Case

    “The Iceman” helmer Ariel Vromen is in talks to direct the Warner Bros. sci-fi thriller “Somacell.” David Goyer is producing the futuristic female driven thriller which is in the vein of “Minority Report” and “Inception.” In the pic, Somacell imagines a near future where violent criminals can be rehabilitated using technology that allows counselor to […]

  • 'Hotel Transylvania 3: Summer Vacation' Tracks

    'Hotel Transylvania 3: Summer Vacation' on Track for $40 Million-Plus Opening

    “The Iceman” helmer Ariel Vromen is in talks to direct the Warner Bros. sci-fi thriller “Somacell.” David Goyer is producing the futuristic female driven thriller which is in the vein of “Minority Report” and “Inception.” In the pic, Somacell imagines a near future where violent criminals can be rehabilitated using technology that allows counselor to […]

  • Actor Johnny Depp poses for photographers

    Johnny Depp: Rolling Stone Profile Latest Sign Actor Is PR Liability

    “The Iceman” helmer Ariel Vromen is in talks to direct the Warner Bros. sci-fi thriller “Somacell.” David Goyer is producing the futuristic female driven thriller which is in the vein of “Minority Report” and “Inception.” In the pic, Somacell imagines a near future where violent criminals can be rehabilitated using technology that allows counselor to […]

  • Film review: Budapest Noir

    Film Review: 'Budapest Noir'

    “The Iceman” helmer Ariel Vromen is in talks to direct the Warner Bros. sci-fi thriller “Somacell.” David Goyer is producing the futuristic female driven thriller which is in the vein of “Minority Report” and “Inception.” In the pic, Somacell imagines a near future where violent criminals can be rehabilitated using technology that allows counselor to […]

  • Johnny Depp

    The Most Shocking Revelations From Johnny Depp's Rolling Stone Interview

    “The Iceman” helmer Ariel Vromen is in talks to direct the Warner Bros. sci-fi thriller “Somacell.” David Goyer is producing the futuristic female driven thriller which is in the vein of “Minority Report” and “Inception.” In the pic, Somacell imagines a near future where violent criminals can be rehabilitated using technology that allows counselor to […]

More From Our Brands

Access exclusive content