Captain Phillips,” “Philomena,” “The Spectacular Now,” “12 Years a Slave”  and “What Maisie Knew” have been selected as finalists for the 26th USC Libraries Scripter Award.

The award will be presented Feb. 8 at the Edward L. Doheny Jr. Memorial Library  at the University of Southern California.

The Scripter award honors the writers of adapted screenplays and authors of the written work upon which the screenplay is based. “Argo” won last year’s trophy and previous winners include “The Descendants,” “No Country for Old Men” and “The English Patient.”

The finalists are:

Richard Phillips with Stephan Talty, authors of “A Captain’s Duty: Somali Pirates, Navy SEALs, and Dangerous Days at Sea,” and screenwriter Billy Ray, for “Captain Phillips”

For “Philomena,” author Martin Sixsmith, who wrote the book “The Lost Child of Philomena Lee,” and screenwriters Steve Coogan and Jeff Pope

Novelist Tim Tharp and screenwriters Scott Neustadter and Michael H. Weber for “The Spectacular Now”

Solomon Northup, author of “Twelve Years a Slave,” and screenwriter John Ridley for “12 Years a Slave”

Screenwriters Carroll Cartwright and Nancy Doyne for “What Maisie Knew,” adapted from the novel by Henry James