“House of Cards” creator Beau Willimon and 94-year-old incumbent Walter Bernstein have won freelance seats on the Writers Guild of America East Council.

Incumbents John Auerbach, Terry George and Jenny Lumet were re-elected to freelance seats along with newcomers Kyle Bradstreet and Chris Kyle. A total of 16 candidates were seeking the seven open freelance seats.

Gail Lee, Kathy McGee and Cath Twohill won the staff seats. All seats are for two-year terms.

Bernstein was blacklisted by the Hollywood studios during the 1950s. He  received an Oscar nomination and a WGA award for the script for 1976’s “The Front.” The WGA East awarded him the Ian McLellan Hunter Memorial Award for Lifetime Achievement in Writing in 1994 and the Evelyn F. Burkey Award in 2008.

Willimon is also a playwright and wrote “Farragut North,” which was adapted into George Clooney’s “The Ides of March.”

The WGA East has about 4,000 members.